Yo La Tengo

Listen: Yo La Tengo Spotify Singles –  “Shades of Blue” & Neil Young’s “Time Fades Away”

Jun 20, 2018

Yo La Tengo just released two original in-studio singles recorded at Spotify – "Shades of Blue" from their recent and beautiful album There's a Riot Going On and a cover of Neil Young's "Time Fades Away". The legendary band just finished a west coast tour swing and are continuing their tour throughout the summer. Dates below.



Tour Dates:
6/28 – New York, NY – Liberty Belle Riverboat – SOLD OUT
7/12 – Madrid, Spain – Mad Cool Festival
7/13 – Oeiras, Portugal – Nos Alive Festival
8/25 – Copenhagen, Denmark – Badesøen Festival
8/26 – Hamburg, Germany – Sommer in Altona
8/27 – Nijmegen, Netherlands – Doornrosje
8/29 – Brighton, UK – Komedia
8/30-9/2 – Wiltshire, UK – End Of The Road Festival
8/30-9/2 – Vlieland, Netherlands – Into The Great Wide Open Festival
9/9 – New York, NY – OctFest
9/11 – Providence, RI – Columbus Theatre
9/12 – Kingston, NY – BSP
9/13 – Buffalo, NY – Asbury Hall
9/14 – Detroit, MI – The Majestic
9/15 – Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom
9/17 – St Louis, MO – Delmar Hall
9/18 – Oxford, MS – The Lyric Oxford
9/20 – Dallas, TX – Granada Theater
9/21 – San Antonio, TX – Paper Tiger
9/22 – Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall
9/23 – Austin, TX – Mohawk
10/8 – Osaka, Japan – Umeda Club Quattro
10/9 – Nagoya, Japan – Club Quattro

10/10 – Tokyo, Japan – Tsutaya O-East

Goat Girl

Watch: Goat Girl performs “The Man” on Later with Jools Holland

Jun 14, 2018

Last night Goat Girl made their TV debut on BBC Later With Jools Holland. The South London four-piece performed "The Man" from their debut, self-titled album which came out earlier this year on Rough Trade Records. Goat Girl is Clottie Cream, Rosy Bones, Naima Jelly and L.E.D and the new ragtag bunch will be appearing at festivals and headlining across Europe throughout the summer.



Watch Low Video Triptych from Forthcoming Album

Jun 12, 2018

Low has a new album coming, Double Negative, in September (yessssssss) and have shared three songs as a triptych. "Quorum", "Dancing and Blood", and "Fly" were given nearly 15 minutes to breathe, their respective videos combined into one incredible passage of time and age. "Quorum" was directed by Ben Chisholm, "Dancing and Blood" by Karlos Rene Ayala and "Fly" by Mark Pellington. Take a look:


Bradford Cox

Watch: Bradford Cox Interview at Primavera Sound

Jun 11, 2018

Any and every Bradford Cox interview must be seen...'nuff said. Deerhiunter just played Primavera Sound in Barcelona and Bradford chatted for a few with Johann Wald...I guess he really likes the festival.

Ólafur Arnalds

Watch: Ólafur Arnalds ft. SOHN “Unfold” Video

Jun 09, 2018

Take in the video for the gorgeous new track from Icelandic composer and producer Ólafur Arnalds featuring English singer-producer SOHN. "Unfold" is the second single from Ólafur's upcoming album re:member, out August 24th, following the title track. I guess they call they classical crossover. It's liberating.

‘This is my breaking-out-of-the-shell album. It’s me taking the raw influences that I have from all these different musical genres and not filtering them. I really hope you will enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it.’


Watch: Tennyson Live In-Studio Performance of “Uh-Oh” w Miguel Atwood-Ferguson Band

Jun 07, 2018

Tennyson has shared a live in-studio performance with Miguel Atwood-Ferguson and his band of the title track to last year's Uh oh! EPThe song was performed at Valentine Studios in LA. In the words of Noho Hank from HBO's Barry...It's just nice. 

Some background on Valentine Studios: Valentine Studios was founded in 1963 by former Capitol Records engineer Jimmy Valentine after he purchased and converted an old dentist office into a recording space. The space became a legendary recording studio and went on to produce records from The Beach Boys, Frank Zappa, Jackson Brown and more. As his auto parts business next door began earning more business, Jimmy decided to phase out the studio in 1979. Now almost 40 years after closing, the studio has re-opened and been brought back to life for a modern music landscape while retaining the look and feel of a classic music studio.


Listen: Arp “Nzuku”

Jun 06, 2018

Brooklyn artist, producer, DJ Alexis Georgopoulos, known as Arp, is releasing his fifth full-length Zebra on June 22nd on Mexican Summer. Arp just shared the second single "Nzuku" described as "Rotating on a hypnotic marimba pattern and an octave-driven bass, “Nzuku” is the sound of an ensemble working together in harmony, opening doors for one another." Take a listen. This is what Arp's label has to say about the new album:

A mutant offspring of diverse stylings, 2018’s expansive ZEBRA is a post-everything symbiosis of ancient to future psychotropics. Using forward-looking production techniques, ZEBRA is a vast, shimmering prospect, emphasizing points of connectivity, pleasantly disrupting outdated boundaries between musical traditions, hierarchies and genre politics.



Watch: Preoccupations “Decompose” Video

Jun 04, 2018

Calgary, Alberta's Preoccupations have a new video out today, "Decompose" directed by Evan Henderson from their latest release New Material. The band has had some pretty awful luck of late, having had all their gear stolen on their current tour. Apparently, they raised enough money through social media fundraising to start over. Here's hoping they can finish the tour and keep rolling.