Eleanor Friedberger

“I’ll Never Be Happy Again” (Live at Under the Radar’s CMJ) Video

Dec 05, 2011

Watch on YouTube

Under the Radar had a CMJ party on October 19 at Public Assembly in Brooklyn. The event, which was sponsored by PRS guitars, featured performances by Eleanor FriedbergerThe StepkidsStill CornersPorcelain RaftCasiokids, and Chad ValleyPeter Staubs was on hand to film the party and we'll be posting videos of some of the songs that were performed.

Today, we have Eleanor Friedberger performing "I'll Never Be Happy Again," a brand new song not taken from her debut solo album, Last Summer. Check out the video, above.

Silver Swans

MP3 Premiere: Silver Swans - “Let It Happen”

Dec 05, 2011

Listen to this track

After earning a bit of buzz with their EP Secrets, San Francisco singer Ann Yu and musician/producer Jon Waters, otherwise known as the electro dream-pop duo Silver Swans have unveiled a new single off their forthcoming full-length Forever. Entitled "Let It Happen," Yu states in a press release that "Jon has an insatiable ability to create these fantastic little bits and pieces that make it effortless to write melodies to and finish into a song.  He sent me the initial idea for 'Let It Happen' via e-mail and the minute I heard it, it just reminded me of a time when all I wanted to do was melt away with he loves me, he loves me nots.  The song has a certain playfulness to it that ponders what could be and all the infinite possibilities of a so far one-sided love affair.  I think all of us could use a little bit of that when taking chances and really trying to find love."  Forever is slated for release on Feb. 7.






The Lower 48

Premiere: “Into the Woods” MP3

Dec 05, 2011

Listen to this track

Portland-via-Minneapolis folk trio The Lower 48 are self-releasing their debut album, Where All Maps End, on December 13. It's already out in digital format. Today, we're proud to debut the ascendant band's strummy twee tune, "Into the Woods." The 21-year-old band will throw an album release party at Portland's Doug Fir Lounge on December 29. Stream more songs, below:


Plastic Flowers

“Strange Neighbors” MP3

Nov 30, 2011

Listen to this track

Tallahassee, FL synth-pop artist Sean Earl Beard records under the stage name Plastic Flowers and he's dropping his Strange Neighbors 7-inch via Wierd (It's also out in digital format.). Download the Cure-esque title track, above, and watch its video, directed by Joe Davenport. Also, stream "Drive Me Home," below:

 Plastic Flowers: "Drive Me Home"

Premiere: Pallers Mixtape

Today, Swedish electro duo Pallers gifted us with a unique, melancholy mix. The sound is not unlike their debut full-lenght Sea of Memories, full of electronic beats and half-remembered dreams. 

Explains member Henrik Mårtensson, who created the tape; “The mix is heavily influenced by a set done for the ambient club FLIM here in Stockholm.  It contains some fave songs from this year, last year and many other years. It’s a mix full of this summer’s bad weather, soft pianos, and hovering helicopters.”

Take a listen to the mix and check out the tracklist, below. 

Pallers Mixtape For Under the Radar Magazine by Under_Radar_Mag on Mixcloud


Felt – “Seahorses on Broadway”

Julianna Barwick – “The Magic Place”

The xx – “Hot Like Fire”

Kris Tall – “Elbe (Robag Wruhme Remix)”

Bark Psychosis – “Pendulum Man”

Shlohmo – “Places”

Andy Stott – “Cherry Eye”

Ashra – “Mistral”

Floating Points – “Love Me Like This (Nonsense Dub)”

Rhythm & Sound W-Tikiman – “What a Mistry”

Black Devil Disco Club – “I Regret The Flower Power (Fragments of Fear Remix by Quiet Village)”

Thomas Fehlmann – “Darkspark”

Verve – “Man Called Sun”

Laaraji – “The Dance #2”

The Durutti Column – “Requiem Again”

Deep Chord – “Celestialis”

Borden, Ferraro, Godin, Halo & Lopatin – “Twilight Pacific”

Invisible Conga People – “Can't Feel My Knees (Dub)”

False – “Face The Rain”

Rhythm & Sound W-Tikiman – “Why”

F.S.O.L. – “Cerebral”

Oneohtrix Point Never – “Replica”

Pole – “Modul”

Monoloake – “Watching Clouds”

The Orb – “Assassin”

Plastikman – “Psyk”

The Roots: “Redford (For Yia Yia & Pappou)” / ”Possibility" / ”Will to Power” MP3 Streams

The Roots' new album undun is a concept album about a man called Redford Stephens—a name inspired by a short instrumental piece on Sufjan Stevens’ Michigan album. It’s fitting then, that the Stevens guests on the LP's stretched out, multi-song reinterpretation of “Redford.” Take a listen to three of the four movements over at Stereogum.

Carter Tanton

Premiere: “In Knots” MP3

Nov 28, 2011

Listen to this track

Carter Tanton released his debut LP, Freeclouds, earlier this month via Western Vinyl. Many of the tunes penned for the release, and the album's title, use David Bowie's "Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud" as a touchstone. We already posted about "Murderous Joy," "Fake Pretend" [ft. Marissa Nadler], and Horrorscope." Today, we're debuting the album's spooky country-folk tune and fourth single, "In Knots." Distal will be doing a remix of the cut.

Kate Bush

“Misty” (Mistraldespair Segment) Video

Nov 28, 2011

Watch on YouTube

On her much praised new album, 50 Words for Snow, singer/songwriter Kate Bush includes a 13-and-a-half-minute song about having a romantic relationship with a snowman (just go with it). To provide some visual aid to an already unusual concept, Bush recently posted a video including a portion of the song. The claymamtion clip, entitled, "Mistraldespair" depicts a woman woken in the middle of the night as her icy lawn decoration climbs into bed with her. As strange as it is, the music actually makes the whole scene quite sad, as the poor snowman begins to melt as soon he starts to make his move. Check it out, above.