Loney Dear

Premiere: Loney Dear - “Humbug” Acoustic Version Video

Sep 02, 2017

Loney dear is Swedish singer/songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Emil Svanängen, and he’s back with an first new self-titled album, his first in six years. Loney dear is due out September 29 via Peter Gabriel's Real World Records and the latest single is “Humbug,” which follows the first, "Sum." Under the Radar has a lovely video of an acoustic piano version to premiere. Svanängen and fellow Swedish musician Klabbe Hörngren recorded it together at Real World Studios this July. Svanängen's tender and substantial vocals dance around his and Hörngren's piano play. Take a gander below.

About the new song, Svanängen states “It’s more of a stream of consciousness, but I like to see how the story becomes visible even through the madness of just following the brain. I began experimenting with the unreliable narrator, and I really like the tone we created there because it was the first time I was able to convey the feeling of don't trust Emil. I don't want to be the artist that you'd want to buy a car from.”

Five years in the making, Loney dear draws inspiration from the jazz rhythms of Nina Simone, the stripped back intimacy and compositional brilliance of Bon Iver, and the more electronic side of John Grant's work. Svanängen feels he's reached a new chapter on the new album: "It's been a little bit like being out on the ocean swimming without anything to hold on to and now I've reached the beach. There is a certain new blackness in the music, I have learned to make my inner darkness more visible to people because I don't want to seem lighter than I am."

Loney dear 2017 Tour Dates:

Wed 20 Sep, COPENHAGAN, DK, VEGA Musikkens Hus
Thu 21 Sep, HAMBURG, DE, Reeperbahn Festival
Fri 22 Sep, AMSTERDAM, NL, Indiestad @ Paradiso
Sat 23 Sep, ROTTERDAM, NL, Rotown
Sun 24 Sep, HALDERN, DE, Haldern Pop Bar
Tue 26 Sep, DÜDINGEN, CH, Bad Bonn
Wed 27 Sep, PARIS, FR, Le Pop-Up du Label
Thu 28 Sep, LONDON, UK, Servant Jazz Quarters
Fri 29 Sep, BRUSSELS, BE, Huis 23 @ Ancienne Belgique
Sat 30 Sept, DORTMUND, DE, Way Back When Festival @ Pauluskirche
Thu 26 Oct, KALTERN, IT, Kaltern Pop
Fri 27 Oct, UMEA, SE, Umea Jazz Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.