Big Thief

Watch: Big Thief “Mythological Beauty” Video

Apr 05, 2017

Big Thief, one of the very big and welcome surprises of 2016 with their debut Masterpiece, just released their video for "Mythological Beauty" from the forthcoming sophomore album Capacity, out June 9th on Saddle Creek. The Band announced the new record today. 

A press release describes the new album: "The trails that the band takes us down on Capacity are overgrown with a wilderness of souls. These are carnivorous stories, with pangs of sadness and joy. (Adrianne) Lenker shows us the gentle side of being ripped open, and then recounts the second act of pulling oneself back together to prepare for it all to happen again.

 “There is a darker darkness and a lighter light on this album,” reveals singer and guitarist Adrianne Lenker. “The songs search for a deeper level of self-acceptance, to embrace the world within and without. I think Masterpiece began that process, as a first reaction from inside the pain, and Capacity continues that examination with a wider perspective.”

"Mythological Beast" will be available on Record Store Day as a 7" b/w non-album track "Breathe in My Lungs". Learn more about the song via her interview with NPR Music's Bob Boilen on All Songs Considered

The video for features a cameo by Lenker's mother (who also graced the cover of Masterpiece) and was directed by Vanessa Haddad and Adam Gundersheimer. "It leaves itself open to interpretation as it follows a resolute woman played by Adrianne carrying a stricken man played by Buck Meek through the woods."

 

Big Thief also has a bunch of shows coming up:

BIG THIEF TOUR DATES (new dates in bold)
Thu. Apr. 27 - Washington, DC @ Songbyrd w/ Twain, Infinity Crush
Fri. May 5 - Sun. May 7 - Winooski, VT @ Waking Windows Music & Arts Festival
Wed. May 31 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre w/ Conor Oberst 
Thu. June 1 - Nelsonville, OH @ Nelsonville Art & Music Festival
Fri. June 2 - Richmond, VA @ Friday Cheers at Brown's Island w/ Conor Oberst 
Sat. June 3 - Norfolk, VA @ The NorVa w/ Conor Oberst 
Sun. June 4 - Wilmington, NC @ The Throne Theater w/ Conor Oberst 
Tue. June 6 - Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar
Wed. June 7 - Lancaster, PA @ Arcade Lancaster
Fri. June 9 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
Thu. June 22 - Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston
Fri. June 23 - Sun. June 25 - North Adams, MA @ Solid Sound Festival
Tue. June 27 - Montreal, QC @ Bar Le "Ritz" P.D.B.
Wed. June 28 - Toronto, ON @ The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern
Thu. June 29 - Buffalo, NY @ Traif MusicHall
Fri. June 30 - Toledo, OH @ Ottawa Tavern
Sat. July 1 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell's Eccentric Cafe
Sun. July 2 - Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
Mon. July 3 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon
Wed. July 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center
Thu. July 6 - Sun. July 9 - Winnipeg, MB @ Winnipeg Folk Festival
Mon. July 10 - Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium
Tue. July 11 - Des Moines, IA @ Vaudeville Mews
Wed. July 12 - St. Louis, MO @ Old Rock House
Thu. July 13 - Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room - Outside w/ Conor Oberst 
Fri. July 14 - Springfield, MO @ Gillioz Theatre w/ Conor Oberst 
Fri. July 14 - Sun. July 16 - Louisville KY @ Forecastle Festival
Mon. July 17 - Chicago, IL @ Millennium Park w/ Overcoats
Thu. July 20 - Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn! w/ Conor Oberst, Hop Along
Fri. July 21 - Sun. July 23 - Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Festival
Fri. July 28 - Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sat. July 29 - Boston, MA @ Blue Hills Bank Pavilion w/ The Head and the Heart
Thu. Aug. 3 - Sun. Aug. 6 - Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon Festival
Tue. Aug. 8 - Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theatre w/ Belle and Sebastian
Sat. Aug. 12 - Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West Festival
Mon. Aug. 14 - Antwerp, BE @ Rivierenhof Theater w/ Conor Oberst, M. Ward
Tue. Aug. 15 - Frankfurt, DE @ Batchkapp w/ Conor Oberst
Wed. Aug. 16 - Erlangen, DE @ E-Werk w/ Conor Oberst
Thu. Aug. 17 - Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg w/ Conor Oberst
Fri. Aug. 18 - London, UK @ Koko w/ Conor Oberst
Sat. Aug. 19 - Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 - Stirling, UK @ Doune the Rabbit Hole
Mon. Aug. 21 - Liverpool, UK @ Academy w/ Conor Oberst
Tue. Aug. 22 - Glasgow, UK @ ABC w/ Conor Oberst