Montero

Watch: Montero “Tokin The Night Away” Video

Nov 07, 2017

Montero is Australian artist and musician Ben Montero, who is based variously in Athens, Melbourne, New York, Austin and anywhere else he can lay his hat. Today, Montero is announcing his new album, Performer, coming out February 2 on Chapter Music. Along with the announcement, he’s sharing the new single, “Tokin’ The Night Away,” accompanied by an animated video Montero made himself. The amusing animation accompanies the chill soft-funk tune somewhere between Tame Impala and Mac DeMarco. Check it out below.

As well as being somewhat of an idiosyncratic character and musical mastermind, Montero is also a visual artist. Ben's comic-based style illustrates a column for Vice and his art has graced album covers, t-shirts, and posters for Mac DeMarcoAriel PinkKurt VilePond and others.

Here's some info about his new album from the press release: The album Performer was produced by Ben, Jay Watson of Tame Impala/Pond/Gum, and Grammy Award-winning engineer Riccardo Damian at Mark Ronson’s Tileyard studios in London. All instruments were played by Ben, Jay and Riccardo, save some violin by Emily, a waitress from the studio cafe, and electric piano from Ben’s uncle Jason.

Performer glories in the widescreen soft rock tradition, updating the romantic classicism of golden era love songs with a psychedelic pop brush. Montero's music evokes the extended soundscapes and textures of 70s prog, the easy listening adult weirdness of Jimmy Webb and Burt Bacharach, and the sports arena pounding of vintage MOR rock - sometimes all in the space of one song. With an emphasis on clear vocals, soaring melodies, lush instrumentation and dreamy glam pomp, Performer ventures into gently surreal realms of romance, yearning, and wonder.

Montero will be joining Mac Demarco on an EU & UK tour that begins tonight in Hamburg, DE. Check the rest of the dates below.

 

 

MONTERO EU & UK TOUR DATES:

Tue. Nov. 7 - Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 8 - Berlin, DE @ Astra w/ Mac DeMarco
Thu. Nov. 9 - Berlin, DE @ Astra w/ Mac DeMarco
Fri. Nov. 10 - Cologne, DE @ Kantine w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 11 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 13 - Nantes, FR @ Stereolux w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 14 - Paris, FR @ Olympia w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 15 - London, UK @ The Shacklewell Arms
Fri. Nov. 17 - London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 18 - London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Sun. Nov. 19 - London, UK @ Coronet w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 20 - Nottingham, UK @ Rock City Main Hall w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 21 - Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 22 - Dublin, IRE @ Vicar Street w/ Mac DeMarco
Fri. Nov. 24 - Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands w/ Mac DeMarco
Sat. Nov. 25 - Machester, UK @ Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Sun. Nov. 26 - Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy w/ Mac DeMarco
Mon. Nov. 27 - Brighton, UK @ Dome w/ Mac DeMarco
Tue. Nov. 28 - Brussels, BE @ AB w/ Mac DeMarco
Wed. Nov. 29 - Utrecht, NL @ Tivoli w/ Mac DeMarco
Thu. Nov. 30 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso w/ Mac DeMarco