A. Savage (Parquet Courts' Andrew Savage) Shares 7-Minute Long New Song "Ladies From Houston" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, July 10th, 2020  

A. Savage (Parquet Courts’ Andrew Savage) Shares 7-Minute Long New Song “Ladies From Houston”

Thawing Dawn Due Out This Friday via Dull Tolls

Oct 09, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Parquet Courts' frontman Andrew Savage is releasing his debut solo album, Thawing Dawn, under the name A. Savage this Friday (October 13) via Dull Tolls. He previously shared the album's first single, "Winter in the South," which was followed by the crisp and sparse "Wild, Wild, Wild Horses," and the country-tinged "Phantom Limbo." Now he has shared another song from the album, the 7-minute long slow-burner "Ladies From Houston." Check it out below, followed by the song's lyrics and Savage's upcoming tour dates (including some newly announced European dates).

Savage had this to say about the inspiration behind the song in a press release: "I wrote 'Ladies From Houston' after going to a small gathering of friends. We were at the house of our friend's father, who had just died, and he had just finished selling off most of his dad's possessions so he could sell the house. Some stuff we broke. But a collection of erotica and photographs remained, and we all began sorting through it. This investigation set off a string of stories that went on late into the night. We all learned something about everyone else. The words are based on the stories told that night."  

Thawing Dawn was recorded between December 2016 and June 2017 in Jarvis Taveniere's Thump Studios in Brooklyn. The album also features members of Woods, Ultimate Painting, PC Worship, EZTV, Sunwatchers, and Psychic TV. 

Parquet Courts released their excellent latest album, Human Performance, in April, 2016 via Rough Trade. Read our 2016 interview with Parquet Courts.

"Ladies From Houston" Lyrics:

When the night sun stops trying, if it dims without fighting
and a chorus of midnight dogs flowers from the shadows
like the ladies from Houston who walk into my house
drink coffee and talk softly, drink wine and speak loud
back at me
 
I've got a full ring of keys again
 
30 years paid in mistakes as the rent to the room that my soul vacates
 
Yeah she raised me like I was her own flesh and blood
and she came when I cried and I wasn't embarrassed. 
Well I knew enough Spanish to interpret a shoe
as an armed confrontation when its quickly removed and lifted
 
I've got a full ring of keys again
 
Time is a feral cats prowl blind and lost to the chase without fear or doubt
 
Said he's stepped into quicksand and its not like you think
said he's waited with commitment but he didn't start sinking
I said I'd fallen in line, and a few times in love
and I've raised my voice at folks I thought I was above, like a fool
 
I've got a full ring of keys again
 
Scratching glyphs into the glass of the men's room mirror to reflect my wrath
 
Uncle Marty was trouble, at least that's what I heard, 
Now he's dead or in prison or just gone but not missing
But I remember the burn mark, and the Speedy tattoo
and the words that he chose and the way his lips moved to make them
 
I've got a full ring of keys again
 
Nothing lies further from truth than the words from the one who says solid sooth
 
What's the purpose if there is one, for this televised demon
for the sadness I feel when he polutes screen
For the beer in the fridge which has halfway been tasted
That I put to my lips so that it doesn't get wasted or drank


A. Savage Tour Dates:

Wed. Nov. 1 - Pittsburgh, PA @ The Funhouse at Mr. Smalls w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 2 - Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 3 - Detroit, MI @ Jumbo's w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 4 - Columbus,OH @ Double Happiness w/ Jack Cooper
Sun. Nov. 5 - Louisville, KY @ Kaiju w/ Jack Cooper 
Mon. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ The End w/ Jack Cooper
Wed. Nov. 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn w/ Jack Cooper 
Thu. Nov. 9 - Durham,NC @ The Pinhook w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 10 - Washington, DC @ DC9 w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 11- Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr Ballroom w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 30 - Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Fri. Dec. 1 -Jersey City, NJ @ Monty Hall
Sat. Dec. 2 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Sun. Dec. 3 - Allston, MA @ The Great Scott
Mon. Dec. 4 - Montreal, QC @ l'Escogriffe Bar Spectacle
Tue. Dec. 5 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
Mon. Jan. 22 - Berlin, DE @ Monarch
Tue. Jan. 23 - Cologne, DE @ King Georg
Wed. Jan. 24 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Upstairs
Thu. Jan. 25 - Gent, BE @ Nest
Fri. Jan. 26 - Paris, FR @ Pop Up Du Label
Sun. Jan. 28 - Brighton, UK @ The Hope
Mon. Jan. 29 - Bristol, UK @ Louisiana
Tue. Jan. 30 - Leeds, UK @ Oporto
Wed. Jan. 31 - Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Thu. Feb. 1 - Manchester, UK @ Soup Kitchen
Fri. Feb. 2 - London, UK @ Garage

Parquet Courts Tour Dates:

Wed. Nov. 15 - Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle (Red Bull 30 Days in Chicago) w/ Meat Wave
Thu. Nov. 16 - Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Bonny Doon
Fri. Nov. 17 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop w/ The Cowboy
Sun. Nov. 19 - Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere w/ B Boys
Fri. Dec. 15 - Sat. Dec. 16 - Buenos Aires, AR @ Festival BUE

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.