Adrianne Lenker of Big Thief Shares New Solo Song “symbol” and Announces Tour Dates | Under the Radar - Music Magazine

Adrianne Lenker of Big Thief Shares New Solo Song “symbol” and Announces Tour Dates

abysskiss Due Out October 5 via Saddle Creek

Sep 12, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Big Thief singer/songwriter/guitarist Adrianne Lenker is releasing a new solo album, abysskiss, on October 5 via Saddle Creek. Previously she shared its first single, "cradle." Now she has shared another new song from the album, "symbol." Listen below. She has also announced some new solo tour dates, which are below too.

Lenker had this to say about the song in a press release: "While I was resting for a week between tours, 'symbol' came through. I think it was born out of the feeling of wanting to feel at home somewhere amidst the blur of constant travel. Writing it helped me articulate the recognition of a very deep sense of home contained within the warmth of my loved ones and friends made visible in something as simple as a smile."

Abysskiss was co-produced with Luke Temple (also a solo artist and the frontman of Here We Go Magic) and recorded by Gabe Wax. Big Thief released their debut album, Masterpiece, in May 2016, and their sophomore album, Capacity, in June 2017, both via Saddle Creek.

Lenker had this to say about Abysskiss in a previous press release: "I want to archive the songs in their original forms every few years. My first solo record I made was Hours Were the Bird. I had just turned 21 and moved to New York City where I was sleeping in a warehouse, working in a restaurant and photographing pigeons. Now five years later, another skin is being shed." 

A previous press release described the album as such: "With this collection...Lenker further illuminates to the listening public what those close to her already know; here we have a songwriter of the highest order, following her voice and the greater voices that pass through her with an unflinching openness and clarity of translation."

Note: In the press release the album title and all the songs titles are styled to be lowercase.

Read our 2016 Pleased to Meet You interview with Big Thief.

Read our 2017 interview with Big Thief on Capacity.

Adrianne Lenker Tour Dates:

Tuesday, January 15 - London, UK @ Union Chapel
Wednesday, January 16 - Dublin, IE @ The Button Factory
Thursday, January 17 - Manchester, UK @ YES
Saturday, January 19 - Ghent, BE @ Charlatan
Sunday, January 20 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tuesday, January 22 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Tolhuistuin
Wednesday, January 23 - Berlin, DE @ Baumhausbar
Monday, February 4 - Los Angeles, CA @ Pico Union Project
Tuesday, February 5 - Santa Barbara, CA @ SOhO
Wednesday, February 6 - San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Saturday, February 9 - Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project
Sunday, February 10 - Portland, OR @ The Old Church
Thursday, February 14 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Friday, February 15 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
Saturday, February 16 - Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
Monday, February 18 - Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Wednesday, February 20 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Thursday, February 21 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.