Adrianne Lenker (of Big Thief) Visits Coney Island in the Video for "symbol" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine

Adrianne Lenker (of Big Thief) Visits Coney Island in the Video for “symbol”

abysskiss Out Now via Saddle Creek

Nov 29, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Big Thief singer/songwriter/guitarist Adrianne Lenker released a new solo album, abysskiss, back in October via Saddle Creek. Now she has shared a video for the album's "symbol." Adam Gundersheimer and V Haddad directed the clip, which was filmed in Coney Island. Watch it below, followed by her upcoming tour dates.

Gundersheimer and Haddad had this to say about the video in a press release: "The sincerity and intimacy of symbol inspired us to take a documentary approach to the music video. The project is a sort of tribute and love letter to New York City, Coney Island, and all of the people who make those places so special. We spent a couple of days walking the boardwalk and taking video portraits of people we met. We documented whatever they felt like sharing. It was such a warm experience - each person was so giving." 

Previously Lenker shared Abysskiss' first three singles: "cradle," "symbol," and "from." Abysskiss was co-produced with Luke Temple (also a solo artist and the frontman of Here We Go Magic) and recorded by Gabe Wax. Big Thief released their debut album, Masterpiece, in May 2016, and their sophomore album, Capacity, in June 2017, both via Saddle Creek.

Lenker had this to say about Abysskiss in a previous press release: "I want to archive the songs in their original forms every few years. My first solo record I made was Hours Were the Bird. I had just turned 21 and moved to New York City where I was sleeping in a warehouse, working in a restaurant and photographing pigeons. Now five years later, another skin is being shed." 

A previous press release described the album as such: "With this collection...Lenker further illuminates to the listening public what those close to her already know; here we have a songwriter of the highest order, following her voice and the greater voices that pass through her with an unflinching openness and clarity of translation."

Note: In the press release the album title and all the songs titles are styled to be lowercase.

Read our 2016 Pleased to Meet You interview with Big Thief.

Read our 2017 interview with Big Thief on Capacity.

Adrianne Lenker Tour Dates: 

Tuesday, January 15 - London, UK @ Union Chapel - SOLD OUT
Wednesday, January 16 - Dublin, IE @ The Button Factory
Thursday, January 17 - Manchester, UK @ YES
Saturday, January 19 - Ghent, BE @ Charlatan
Sunday, January 20 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tuesday, January 22 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Tolhuistuin
Wednesday, January 23 - Berlin, DE @ Baumhausbar
Monday, February 4 - Los Angeles, CA @ Pico Union Project
Tuesday, February 5 - Santa Barbara, CA @ SOhO
Wednesday, February 6 - San Francisco, CA @ Swedish American Hall
Friday, February 8 - Portland, OR @ Polaris
Saturday, February 9 - Seattle, WA @ The Vera Project
Sunday, February 10 - Portland, OR @ The Old Church - SOLD OUT
Wednesday, February 13 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair
Thursday, February 14 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Friday, February 15 - Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
Saturday, February 16 - Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery
Monday, February 18 - Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Tuesday, February 19 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Calvin College
Wednesday, February 20 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Thursday, February 21 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

johnson charle
November 30th 2018
1:45am

You provide awesome information. Most people don’t know but you have clear it.
This is a really helpful post and very informative there is no doubt about it. I found this one pretty fascinating and it should go into my Collection.