Alex Cameron Announces New Album, Shares Video for New Song “Divorce”

Miami Memory Due Out September 13 via Secretly Canadian

Jun 18, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Australia's Alex Cameron has announced a new album, Miami Memory, and shared a video for a new song from it, "Divorce." He's also announced some new tour dates. Miami Memory is due out September 13 via Secretly Canadian. Watch the "Divorce" video below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as Cameron's upcoming tour dates.

Last month Cameron shared a video for the album's title track, "Miami Memory," that starred actress Jemima Kirke (Girls), also his romantic partner. It was one of our Songs of the Week. Watch it below again.

A press release describes the album as such: "Miami Memory is Cameron's love letter to his partner; a vulnerable, tender, and at times lustful, dedication to the one he loves. Across the album, Cameron sings with stunning candor of his relationship and transition into familial life. Miami Memory is Cameron's tribute to his romantic union; a common, elemental concept revisited by Cameron with his brand of veracious wittiness and sincerity. Miami Memory ultimately twists and subverts the genre of classic rock: it recalls classics the white male ego has historically visited, largely turning its lens away from the men this time, lending itself, rather, to the voices and influence of the powerful women in Cameron's life. In his depiction of his relationship, Cameron reveals a striking honesty about love and sex in a time where a fleetingness hangs over everything."

Cameron had this to say about the album in a press release: "When you listen to these songs, and you're waiting for the twist, or the joke, or any kind of discomfort, I can assure you none of those things were there when I wrote them. These are true stories, of actual events. Specific but never esoteric. And graphic but never offensive. Miami Memory is the story of a couple balancing sex with contemporary family values... It's my gift to my girlfriend, a symbol to hoist on the totem of love."

In a previous press release Cameron had this to say about the album's title track: "'Miami Memory' is a story about how we audition in the present for our future selves to enjoy in retrospect. In that way, tender memories that we share together are captured in thought and stored with the same electricity that keeps our heart beating. It's a gift for my girlfriend Jemima, and it is dedicated to the artist Greer Lankton and her partner Paul Monroe. I am lucky to have learned that a group of people can be a shining light."

Miami Memory Tracklist:

1. Stepdad
2. Miami Memory
3. Far From Born Again
4. Gaslight
5. Bad For The Boys
6. End is Nigh
7. PC With Me
8. Divorce
9. Other Ladies
10. Too Far

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:

Wed. Sept. 18 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Sept. 19 - Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Fri. Sept. 20 - Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Sept. 21 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Sept. 22 - Dublin, IE @ Button Factory
Tue. Sept. 24 - Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Wed. Sept. 25 - London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Thu. Sept. 26 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. Sept. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Sun. Sept. 29 - Southampton, UK @ Loft
Tue. Oct. 1 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef Club
Wed. Oct. 2 - Paris, FR @ Trianon
Thu. Oct. 3 - Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Fri. Oct. 4 - Nantes, FR @ Lieu Unique
Sat. Oct. 5 - Orléans, FR @ Astrolabe
Mon. Oct. 7 - Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Tue. Oct. 8 - Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Oct. 9 - Milan, IT @ Ohibo
Thu. Oct. 10 - Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sat. Oct. 12 - Salzburg, AT @ Rockhouse Birthday Party
Sun. Oct. 13 - Vienna, AT @ Flex Cafe
Mon. Oct. 14 - Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. Oct. 15 - Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Wed. Oct. 16 - Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Fri. Oct. 18 - Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Sat. Oct. 19 - Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret
Sun. Oct. 20 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Oct. 21 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Tue. Oct. 22 - Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Wed. Oct. 23 - Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Fri. Nov. 1 - Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 2 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Tue. Nov. 5 - Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ Exit In
Thu. Nov. 7 - St. Louis, MO @ Ready Room
Fri. Nov. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sat. Nov. 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Tue. Nov. 12 - Bloomington, IN @ Bishop Bar
Wed. Nov. 13 - Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Thu. Nov. 14 - Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Nov. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Sat. Nov. 16 - Montreal, QC @ Fairmount
Wed. Nov. 20 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's
Thu. Nov. 21 - Boston, MA @ Sinclair
Fri. Nov. 22 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Nov. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Fri. Dec. 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sat. Dec. 7 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Sun. Dec. 9 - Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Mon. Dec. 10 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Wed. Dec. 12 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Thu. Dec. 13 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. Dec. 14 - Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.