Alex Cameron Dances at a Strip Club in the Video for New Pro-Sex Worker Song “Far From Born Again” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine

Alex Cameron Dances at a Strip Club in the Video for New Pro-Sex Worker Song “Far From Born Again”

Miami Memory Due Out September 13 via Secretly Canadian

Aug 15, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Australia's Alex Cameron is releasing a new album, Miami Memory, on September 13 via Secretly Canadian. Now he has shared another song from the album, "Far From Born Again," via a video for the track that features Cameron dancing at a strip club and interviews with three sex workers. In the chorus Cameron sings "Far from born again/She's doing porn again." Watch the Ashley Connor-directed video below and see if you can spot a potential cameo from Yeasayer's Anand Wilder.

Cameron had this to say about the video in a press release: "'Far From Born Again' is a song about the independent sex work industry; its workers, and the dialogue surrounding their community. Not to be confused with sex trafficking or forced prostitution, independent sex workers set their own rates, and choose their clients. The song was a moment for me to clearly express my stance on the job and the people that do it. I support sex workers, I know many of them, I believe that educating the public on its very existence is extremely important. Writing the song was also a chance to speak directly to those who oppose it -- men in parliaments and senates across the world, forced to maintain a global puritan standard to uphold a dubious political status quo at the cost of providing legislation that could well lead towards the well-being of the many sex workers across the world."

In May Cameron shared a video for Miami Memory's title track, "Miami Memory," that starred actress Jemima Kirke (Girls), also his romantic partner. It was one of our Songs of the Week. When the album was announced in June, Cameron shared a video for its second single, "Divorce."

A previous press release described the album as such: "Miami Memory is Cameron's love letter to his partner; a vulnerable, tender, and at times lustful, dedication to the one he loves. Across the album, Cameron sings with stunning candor of his relationship and transition into familial life. Miami Memory is Cameron's tribute to his romantic union; a common, elemental concept revisited by Cameron with his brand of veracious wittiness and sincerity. Miami Memory ultimately twists and subverts the genre of classic rock: it recalls classics the white male ego has historically visited, largely turning its lens away from the men this time, lending itself, rather, to the voices and influence of the powerful women in Cameron's life. In his depiction of his relationship, Cameron reveals a striking honesty about love and sex in a time where a fleetingness hangs over everything."

Cameron had this to say about the album in the previous press release: "When you listen to these songs, and you're waiting for the twist, or the joke, or any kind of discomfort, I can assure you none of those things were there when I wrote them. These are true stories, of actual events. Specific but never esoteric. And graphic but never offensive. Miami Memory is the story of a couple balancing sex with contemporary family values... It's my gift to my girlfriend, a symbol to hoist on the totem of love."

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:

Wed. Sept. 18 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Sept. 19 - Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Fri. Sept. 20 - Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Sept. 21 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Sept. 22 - Dublin, IE @ Button Factory
Tue. Sept. 24 - Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Wed. Sept. 25 - London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Thu. Sept. 26 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. Sept. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Sun. Sept. 29 - Southampton, UK @ Loft
Tue. Oct. 1 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef Club
Wed. Oct. 2 - Paris, FR @ Trianon
Thu. Oct. 3 - Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Fri. Oct. 4 - Nantes, FR @ Lieu Unique
Sat. Oct. 5 - Orléans, FR @ Astrolabe
Mon. Oct. 7 - Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Tue. Oct. 8 - Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Oct. 9 - Milan, IT @ Ohibo
Thu. Oct. 10 - Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sat. Oct. 12 - Salzburg, AT @ Rockhouse Birthday Party
Sun. Oct. 13 - Vienna, AT @ Flex Cafe
Mon. Oct. 14 - Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. Oct. 15 - Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Wed. Oct. 16 - Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Fri. Oct. 18 - Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Sat. Oct. 19 - Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret
Sun. Oct. 20 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Oct. 21 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Tue. Oct. 22 - Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Wed. Oct. 23 - Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Fri. Nov. 1 - Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 2 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Tue. Nov. 5 - Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ Exit In
Thu. Nov. 7 - St. Louis, MO @ Ready Room
Fri. Nov. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sat. Nov. 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Tue. Nov. 12 - Bloomington, IN @ Bishop Bar
Wed. Nov. 13 - Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Thu. Nov. 14 - Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Nov. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Sat. Nov. 16 - Montreal, QC @ Fairmount
Wed. Nov. 20 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's
Thu. Nov. 21 - Boston, MA @ Sinclair
Fri. Nov. 22 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Nov. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Dec. 5 - Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Fri. Dec. 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sat. Dec. 7 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Sun. Dec. 9 - Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Mon. Dec. 10 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Wed. Dec. 12 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Thu. Dec. 13 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. Dec. 14 - Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.