Alex Cameron Shares New Song “Stepdad” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, June 4th, 2020  

Alex Cameron Shares New Song “Stepdad”

Miami Memory Due Out This Friday via Secretly Canadian

Sep 10, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Australia's Alex Cameron is releasing a new album, Miami Memory, this Friday (September 13) via Secretly Canadian. Now he has shared another song from the album, "Stepdad," which is about him becoming a "major presence in his girlfriend's children's lives," according to a press release, and the song "is an ode to the oft-mocked peripheral parental role." Listen below, followed by his upcoming tour dates. 

Cameron had this to say about the song in a press release: "'Stepdad' is an anthem for anybody that's ever been a stepparent. For anybody that's welcomed a third parent into their lives. And for anyone who understands romance in the 21st century. The fairytale, like the typical family dynamic, has evolved. Put this song on to remember how it was, and to celebrate why it worked."

Yesterday we posted our review of Miami Memory and you can read it here.

In May Cameron shared a video for Miami Memory's title track, "Miami Memory," that starred actress Jemima Kirke (Girls), also his romantic partner. It was one of our Songs of the Week. When the album was announced in June, Cameron shared a video for its second single, "Divorce." Then Cameron shared another song from the album, "Far From Born Again," via a video for the track that features Cameron dancing at a strip club and interviews with three sex workers. In the chorus Cameron sings "Far from born again/She's doing porn again."

A previous press release described the album as such: "Miami Memory is Cameron's love letter to his partner; a vulnerable, tender, and at times lustful, dedication to the one he loves. Across the album, Cameron sings with stunning candor of his relationship and transition into familial life. Miami Memory is Cameron's tribute to his romantic union; a common, elemental concept revisited by Cameron with his brand of veracious wittiness and sincerity. Miami Memory ultimately twists and subverts the genre of classic rock: it recalls classics the white male ego has historically visited, largely turning its lens away from the men this time, lending itself, rather, to the voices and influence of the powerful women in Cameron's life. In his depiction of his relationship, Cameron reveals a striking honesty about love and sex in a time where a fleetingness hangs over everything."

Cameron had this to say about the album in the previous press release: "When you listen to these songs, and you're waiting for the twist, or the joke, or any kind of discomfort, I can assure you none of those things were there when I wrote them. These are true stories, of actual events. Specific but never esoteric. And graphic but never offensive. Miami Memory is the story of a couple balancing sex with contemporary family values... It's my gift to my girlfriend, a symbol to hoist on the totem of love."

Alex Cameron Tour Dates:

Wed. Sept. 18 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Sept. 19 - Brussels, BE @ AB Club
Fri. Sept. 20 - Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Sept. 21 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Sun. Sept. 22 - Dublin, IE @ Button Factory
Tue. Sept. 24 - Bristol, UK @ The Fleece
Wed. Sept. 25 - London, UK @ Electric Brixton
Thu. Sept. 26 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Fri. Sept. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ Art School
Sun. Sept. 29 - Southampton, UK @ Loft
Tue. Oct. 1 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef Club
Wed. Oct. 2 - Paris, FR @ Trianon
Thu. Oct. 3 - Reims, FR @ La Cartonnerie
Fri. Oct. 4 - Nantes, FR @ Lieu Unique
Sat. Oct. 5 - Orléans, FR @ Astrolabe
Mon. Oct. 7 - Zurich, CH @ Mascotte
Tue. Oct. 8 - Dudingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Wed. Oct. 9 - Milan, IT @ Ohibo
Thu. Oct. 10 - Bologna, IT @ Covo
Sat. Oct. 12 - Salzburg, AT @ Rockhouse Birthday Party
Sun. Oct. 13 - Vienna, AT @ Flex Cafe
Mon. Oct. 14 - Munich, DE @ Strom
Tue. Oct. 15 - Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory
Wed. Oct. 16 - Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Fri. Oct. 18 - Stockholm, SE @ Vasateatern
Sat. Oct. 19 - Oslo, NO @ Parkteatret
Sun. Oct. 20 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Mon. Oct. 21 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Tue. Oct. 22 - Hamburg, DE @ Uebel & Gefährlich
Wed. Oct. 23 - Cologne, DE @ Artheater
Fri. Nov. 1 - Richmond, VA @ Richmond Music Hall
Sat. Nov. 2 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle
Tue. Nov. 5 - Atlanta, GA @ Aisle 5
Wed. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ Exit In
Thu. Nov. 7 - St. Louis, MO @ Ready Room
Fri. Nov. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Sat. Nov. 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line
Tue. Nov. 12 - Bloomington, IN @ Bishop Bar
Wed. Nov. 13 - Columbus, OH @ A&R Music Bar
Thu. Nov. 14 - Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Nov. 15 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Sat. Nov. 16 - Montreal, QC @ Fairmount
Wed. Nov. 20 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda's
Thu. Nov. 21 - Boston, MA @ Sinclair
Fri. Nov. 22 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Nov. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Dec. 5 - Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Fri. Dec. 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour
Sat. Dec. 7 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Sun. Dec. 9 - Denver, CO @ Bluebird
Mon. Dec. 10 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Urban Lounge
Wed. Dec. 12 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Thu. Dec. 13 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Fri. Dec. 14 - Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.