Angel Olsen Announces New Album and Tour Dates

MY WOMAN Due Out September 2 via Jagjaguwar

Jun 06, 2016 Bookmark and Share


Angel Olsen recently shared a mysterious new video to the YouTube account of her label, Jagjaguwar, that was determined to be for a new song entitled "Intern" potentially from an album named MY WOMAN. Now Olsen has officially announced the album. MY WOMAN is indeed the title and it's due out September 2 via Jagjaguwar. And yes, the title is meant to be written in all caps. Below is the tracklist and the "Intern" video again, and above is the album cover. She's also announced a bunch of tour dates, which are also below.

MY WOMAN is the follow-up to 2014's excellent Burn Your Fire For No Witness.

Justin Raisen (Charli XCX, Sky Ferreira, Santigold) produced the album, which was recorded live to tape at Los Angeles' Vox Studios. For the sessions, guest guitarist Seth Kauffman joined Olsen's regular band of bass player Emily Elhaj, drummer Joshua Jaeger, and guitarist Stewart Bronaugh.

As the title suggests, Olsen says that while the album isn't a full on feminist statement, MY WOMAN does deal with "the complicated mess of being a woman." In a press release she adds, "I'm definitely using scenes that I've replayed in my head, in the same way that I might write a script and manipulate a memory to get it to fit. But I think it's important that people can interpret things the way that they want to."

MY WOMAN Tracklist:

1. Intern
2. Never Be Mine
3. Shut Up Kiss Me
4. Give It Up
5. Not Gonna Kill You
6. Heart Shaped Face
7. Sister
8. Those Were The Days
9. Woman
10. Pops
 
Angel Olsen Tour Dates:

Thu. June 16 - Milwaukee, WI @ Pabst Theater #
Fri. June 17 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center #
Sat. June 18 - Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium #
Sun. June 19 - Winnipeg. MB @ Park Theatre #
Tue. June 21 - Saskatoon, SK @ Amigo's #
Wed. June 22 - Calgary, AB @ Sled Island - Central United Church
Fri. June 24 - Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. June 25 - Anchorage, AK @ Tap Root ^
Sat. July 2 - Reykjavik, IS @ ATP Iceland
Fri. Sep. 9 - Atlanta, GA @ Terminal West *
Sat. Sep. 10 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In *
Sun. Sep. 11 - Cincinnati, OH @ Woodward Theater *
Mon. Sep. 12 - Millvale, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre *
Wed. Sep. 14 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
Thu. Sep. 15 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Fri. Sep. 16 - Hudson, NY @ Basilica Soundscape
Sat. Sep. 17 - New York, NY @ Webster Hall *
Sun. Sep. 18 - Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw *
Tue. Sep. 20 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Sep. 21 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair &
Thu. Sep. 22 - South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Ballroom &
Fri. Sep. 23 - Montreal, QC @ Pop Montreal &
Sat. Sep. 24 - Toronto, ON @ Virgin Mobile Mod Club &
Mon. Sep. 26 - Detroit, MI @ The Loving Touch &
Tue. Sep. 27 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall &
Fri. Sep. 30 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Sat. Oct. 1 - Asheville, NC @ Grey Eagle &
Thu. Oct. 13 - Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Fri. Oct. 14 - Manchester, UK @ Club Academy
Sat. Oct. 15 - Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 Studio Warehouse
Sun. Oct. 16 - Bristol, UK @ The Marble Factory
Mon. Oct. 17 - London, UK @ KOKO
Wed. Oct. 19 - Hamburg, DE @ Kampnagel
Thu. Oct. 20 - Copenhagen, DK @ Koncerthuset, Studie 2
Fri. Oct. 21 - Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Sat. Oct. 22 - Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Sun. Oct. 23 - Goeteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Tue. Oct. 25 - Berlin, DE @ Columbia Theater
Wed. Oct. 26 - Munich, DE @ Ampere
Thu. Oct. 27 - Zuerich, CH @ Bogen F
Fri. Oct. 28 - Koeln, DE @ Stadtgarten
Sat. Oct. 29 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Fri. Nov. 4 - Paris, FR @ La Gaîté Lyrique
Sun. Nov. 6 - Amsterdam, NL @ Tolhuistuin
 
# = with Scott Tuma
^ = with Termination Dust
* = with Alex Cameron
& = with Rodrigo Amarante



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.