Beach Fossils Share "Tangerine" (feat. Slowdive's Rachel Goswell) and "Social Jetlag" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, October 30th, 2020  

Beach Fossils Share “Tangerine” (feat. Slowdive’s Rachel Goswell) and “Social Jetlag”

Somersault Due Out June 2 via Bayonet

May 17, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

New York-based trio Beach Fossils are releasing a new album, Somersault, on June 2 via Bayonet. Previously they had shared Somersault tracks "This Year," "Saint Ivy," and "Down the Line" (the latter two via videos). Now have shared two more songs from the album, "Tangerine," which features the guest vocals of Slowdive singer Rachel Goswell, and "Social Jetlag." Listen to both below, followed by the band's upcoming tour dates.

Pick up or download Under the Radar's current print issue, the Spring 2017 Issue, to read our new interview with Beach Fossils about Somersault. In it frontman Dustin Payseur commented on working with Goswell on "Tangerine." Payseur is a big fan of Slowdive, but was nervous about approaching Goswell until his wife, Katie Garcia, who along with Payseur, runs Bayonet Records, encouraged him. "They've been a huge influence on our music and a lot of people's music, and I've always loved her voice, and I didn't think they'd say yes," says Payseur in our article. "I was really worried about it. But Katie said, 'I've been emailing with Rachel and she's really sweet and you should just reach out,' so we did and she wrote back and said, 'I'd really like to do this. I love it.' When I read that email I was like, 'Oh my god!' It was really exciting."

Legendary '90s shoegazers Slowdive released a new album, a self-titled affair and their first full-length in 22 years, a couple of weeks back via Dead Oceans. It was our Album of the Week. Read our interview with Slowdive's Rachel Goswell about the making of the album.

 

Beach Fossils Tour Dates:

Thu. June 1 - Brooklyn, NY @ House of Vans
Fri. July 7 - Fresno, CA @ Strummer's
Sat. July 8 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Mon. July 10 - Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Tue. July 11 - Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile
Wed. July 12 - Portland, OR @ Holocene
Fri. July 14 - Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Sat. July 15 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Sun. July 16 - Denver, CO @ Marquis Theater
Tue. July 18 - Santa FE, NM @ Meow Wolf
Wed. July 19 - Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Thu. July 20 - San Diego, CA @ Casbah (early & late shows)
Fri. July 21 - Sun. July 23 - Los Angeles, CA @ FYF
Sat. Aug. 26 - Leeds, UK @ This Must Be The Place
Wed. Aug. 30 - London, UK @ Oslo Hackney
Sat. Sept. 2 - Manchester, UK @ 02 Ritz

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.