Ben Stiller's High School Band Capital Punishment Announce New EP, Share New Track "Confusion" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Saturday, June 6th, 2020  

Ben Stiller’s High School Band Capital Punishment Announce New EP, Share New Track “Confusion”

This Is Capital Punishment EP Due Out November 23 via Captured Tracks

Oct 23, 2018
Bookmark and Share

Back in high school actor/director Ben Stiller was in a post-punk band called Capital Punishment. They released just one album, 1982's Roadkill, which was recently reissued by Captured Tracks. Now the band has reformed and announced a new EP, This Is Capital Punishment, and shared a new track, "Confusion," which is a remake of one of their older songs. This Is Capital Punishment is due out November 23, also via Captured Tracks. Check out the 2018 version of "Confusion" below, followed by the EP's tracklist and cover art.

As well as Stiller, the band features Kriss Roebling, Peter Zusi, and Peter Swann. The EP came together when the band reconvened to record two bonus tracks for the Roadkill reissue. They ended up also recording an additional EP's worth of songs.

Stiller had this to say about the EP in a press release: "It was so much fun after 30-plus years to be playing again... and feeling like I actually got a tiny bit better!" 

Roebling explained how the EP was put together: "Nobody recorded simultaneously with anyone else except me. First, Ben and I simply jammed at the studio. From the recordings of those jam sessions, we got some amazing material out of Ben which we then picked through and structured along with my guitar parts into proper songs. From there, Peter Zusi came in from London and recorded some wild progressions and aural textures on his old Les Paul. Peter Swann flew in from Arizona to lay down some melodious bass and also contributed synthesizer to 'Hot Love.' Nobody was told exactly what to do for their parts, so each member's contribution had a marked effect on the direction the songs took, and what ultimately they developed into."

This Is Capital Punishment Tracklist:

1 - Confusion
2 - Drumming Out Time Inside Me
3 - Hot Love
4 - Grey And Illuminate
5 - Shannon Rose

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.