Black Belt Eagle Scout Shares Video for New Song “My Heart Dreams” and Announces Tour | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, October 23rd, 2020  

Black Belt Eagle Scout Shares Video for New Song “My Heart Dreams” and Announces Tour

At the Party With My Brown Friends Due Out August 30 via Saddle Creek

Jul 24, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Black Belt Eagle Scout (aka Katherine Paul) is releasing a new album, At the Party With My Brown Friends, on August 30 via Saddle Creek. Now she has shared another song from it, "My Heart Dreams," via a video for the track. She has also announced some new headlining tour dates. Check out the video and tour dates below.

Angel Two Bulls filmed the "My Heart Dreams" video and co-directed it with Paul. It is set at the Portland Pride parade.

Paul had this to say about the video in a press release: "The idea behind this video was to do something fun while showing the resilience of the Indigenous people, particularly women and girls, which is why I chose to have the Black Belt Eagle Scout band be portrayed by young Indigenous girls. In an age where Missing and Murdered Indigenous women (MMIW) are finally getting the attention they deserve, it's important to make their strength visible. The justice around MMIW is something we should all be paying closer attention to and I hope my platform serves to heighten awareness. The girls and extras in the video are members of the Portland Two Spirit Society, a special group of LGBTQ Indigenous and Native American/Alaska Natives and the Portland All Nations Canoe Family."

Previously Paul shared At the Party With My Brown Friends' first single, album opener "At the Party" (which was one of our Songs of the Week).

Paul is an indigenous queer musician who grew up in a small Indian reservation, the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community, and is based in Portland. Her debut album, Mother of My Children, came out last September via Saddle Creek, so this is a quick turnaround for a sophomore album. Back in April she shared a video for a new song, "Loss & Relax," that was #1 on our Songs of the Week list. Alas that song is not on the new album.

A previous press release described the new album as such: "At the Party With My Brown Friends is a profound and understated forward-step. The squalling guitar anthems that shaped its predecessor are replaced by delicate vocals and soft keys, sentiments spoken and unspoken, presenting something shadowy and unsettling; a stirring of the waters. Paul recalls specific memories - an impromptu beach trip with her friend Haley Heynderickx, her eternal love for her mother, and leaving one love and desperately wanting to find another. The end result presents a captivating about-face that redefines Paul's singular artistic vision."

"At the Party" was written in Paul's bedroom and the press release said it "is a reflection on self-navigation and the comfort that comes from a close-knit group of friends."

Paul had this to say about "At the Party" in the press release: "Within my conscious self, there is always a sense of questioning the legitimacy of the world when you grow up on an Indian reservation. We are all at the party (the world), trying to navigate ourselves within a good or bad situation. I happen to be at the party with my brown friends- Indigenous, Black, POC who always have my back while we walk throughout this event called life."

Read our interview with Black Belt Eagle Scout on Mother of My Children.

Read our 2018 politically themed interview with Black Belt Eagle Scout.

Read our review of Mother of My Children.

Black Belt Eagle Scout Tour Dates:

Thu. July 25 - Westport, CT @ The Levitt Pavilion for the Performing Arts
Fri. July 26 - Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Thu. Aug. 1 - Seattle, WA @ ARTS at King Street Station
Fri. Aug. 2 & Sun. Aug. 4 - Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon
Wed. Aug. 21 - Victoria, BC @ Bastion Square Parkade
Thu. Aug. 22 - Seattle, WA @ Olympic Sculpture Hall
Sun. Aug. 25 - Port Townsend, WA @ Thing
Mon. Oct. 21 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Thu. Oct. 24 - Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Wed. Oct. 30 - Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theater *
Fri. Nov. 1 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown *
Sat. Nov. 2 - Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater *
Sun. Nov. 3 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *
Tue. Nov. 5 - Memphis, TN @ The Hi-Tone *
Wed. Nov. 6 - St. Louis, MO @ Foam
Thu. Nov. 7 - Lawrence, KS @ White Schoolhouse
Fri. Nov. 8 - Fort Collins, CO @ Surfside 7
Sat. Nov. 9 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Diabolical Records
Sun. Nov. 10 - Boise, ID @ Neurolux
Thu. Nov. 12 - Reno, NV @ Holland Project
Wed. Nov. 13 - San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord
Thu. Nov. 14 - Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Bar
Fri. Nov. 15 - San Diego, CA @ Ché Café
Sat. Nov. 16 - Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress
Sun. Nov. 17 - Las Vegas, NV @ The Bunkhouse Saloon
Tue. Nov. 19 - Mesa, AZ @ The Nile
Wed. Nov. 20 - Albuquerque, NM @ Sister
Fri. Nov. 22 - Austin, TX @ Barracuda
Sat. Nov. 23 - Dallas, TX @ The Foundry
Sun. Nov. 24 - Houston, TX @ Satellite
Tue. Nov. 26 - Fayetteville, AR @ George's Majestic Lounge
Wed. Nov. 27 - Nashville, TN @ DRKMTTR
Sat. Nov. 30 - Detroit, MI @ Museum of Contemporary Art Detroit *
Sun. Dec. 1 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *
Tue. Dec. 3 - Montreal, QC @ L'Olympia *
Wed. Dec. 4 - Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre *
Thu. Dec. 5 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel *
Sat. Dec. 7 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club *
Sun. Dec. 8 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *
 
*= w/ Devendra Banhart

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.