Blood Orange Announces New Album, “Negro Swan”

Due Out August 24 via Domino; Watch an Album Trailer

Jul 19, 2018 Photography by Nick Harwood
Bookmark and Share


Blood Orange (aka Dev Hynes) has announced a new album, Negro Swan. It's due out August 24 via Domino. Below are the album's cover and a teaser for the album. No new songs have been shared as of yet and the tracklist is also still forthcoming. But below are some tour dates and a statement from Hynes.

The album is follow-up to 2016's acclaimed Freetown Sound. Back in February he shared two new songs, "Christopher & 6th" and "June 12th," that he said would not be on the next album.

Hynes had this to say about the album in a press release: "My newest album is an exploration into my own and many types of black depression, an honest look at the corners of black existence, and the ongoing anxieties of queer/people of color. A reach back into childhood and modern traumas, and the things we do to get through it all. The underlying thread through each piece on the album is the idea of HOPE, and the lights we can try to turn on within ourselves with a hopefully positive outcome of helping others out of their darkness."

A post shared by Blood Orange (@devhynes) on Jul 18, 2018 at 7:03pm PDT

Blood Orange Tour Dates:

Sat July 21 - Chicago, IL - Union Park, Pitchfork Music Festival
Sun Aug 5 - Montreal, QC - Parc Jean-Drapeau, Osheaga Festival
Fri Sept 14 - Vancouver, BC - The Orpheum, Westward Music Festival
Sat Sept 15 - Seattle, WA - Moore Theatre
Sun Sept 16 - Portland, OR - Roseland
Thurs Sept 20 - Oakland, CA - Fox Theatre
Fri Sept 21 Los Angeles, CA - Greek Theatre
Sat Sept 22 - Las Vegas, NV - Downtown Las Vegas, Life is Beautiful Festival
Wed Sept 26 - New York, NY - Central Park Summerstage
Thurs Sept 27 - Philadelphia, PA - The Fillmore
Fri Sept 28 - Washington, DC - Lincoln Theatre
Mon Oct 1 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall
Tue Oct 2 - Toronto, ON - Danforth Music Hall
Sat Oct 6 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Sat Oct 13 - Austin, TX - Zilker Park, Austin City Limits
Mon Oct 29 - London, UK - O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire
Tue Oct 30 - Amsterdam, NL - Melkweg Max
Fri Nov 2 - Paris, FR - Grande Halle de la Villette - Pitchfork Music Festival Paris
Sat Nov 3 - Sun Nov 4 - Turin, IT - Lingotto Fiere, Club To Club Festival
Tues Nov 6th - Berlin, DE - Columbia Theater
Thurs Nov 8th - Copenhagen, DK - The Grey Hall
Wed Nov 7 - Sat Nov 10 - Reykjavík, Iceland - Iceland Airwaves Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.