Cass McCombs Shares New Song “The Great Pixley Train Robbery”

Tip of the Sphere Due Out February 8 via ANTI-

Jan 16, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Cass McCombs is releasing a new album, Tip of the Sphere, on February 8 via ANTI-. Now he has shared another song from it, "The Great Pixley Train Robbery." According to a press release the song is "based on a newspaper article McCombs uncovered from the 1800s." The song was shared via a video featuring stock footage of trains from various movies. Listen/watch below, followed by his upcoming tour dates.

Previously McCombs shared the album's first single, "Sleeping Volcanoes" (which was one of our Songs of the Week). Then he shared another song from the album, "Estrella." He also did A Take Away Show for La Blogotheque that was filmed at the Dutch National Railway Museum when McCombs was in Utrecht playing the Le Guess Who? Festival in November and featured performances of both "Sleeping Volcanoes" and "Estrella."

The album is the follow-up to 2016's Mangy Love, which made Under the Radar's Top 100 Albums of 2016 list. McCombs traditionally records his albums in bits and pieces in different studios over time, but took a different approach with Tip of the Sphere, recording the whole thing quickly in one location: Shahzad Ismaily's Figure 8 Studios in Brooklyn. A press release says this new approach "brought his songs a raw immediacy and a special balance of compassion and experimentation with the intent of making a more consistent statement." Sam Owens (aka Sam Evian) engineered the album, which features McCombs on guitar and vocals, as well as Dan Horne (bass), Otto Hauser (drums), and Frank LoCrasto (piano, organ, and more), as well as some guests.

Also read our 2016 interview with Cass McCombs.

Cass McCombs Tour Dates:

Mon. March 4 - Washington, DC @ Union Stage *
Tue. March 5 - Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live *
Thu. March 7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Murrmr
Fri. March 8 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Sat. March 9 - Boston, MA @ The Sinclair *
Mon. March 11 - Toronto, ON @ The Horsehoe *
Tue. March 12 - Cleveland, OH @ The Beachland *
Thu. March  14 - Nashville, TN @ The Exit-In *
Fri. March 15 - Indianapolis, IN @ HiFi *
Sat. March 16 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall *
Sun. March 17 - Milwaukee, WI @ The BackRoom at Collectivo *
Mon. March 18 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club *
Wed. March 20 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre *
Sat. March 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room  *
Mon. March 25  - Vancouver, BC @ St. James *
Tue. March 26 - Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey *
Wed. March 27 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater *
Fri. March 29 - Sacramento, CA @ Harlow's *
Sat. March 30 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre *
Thu. April 4 - Santa Cruz, CA @ Moe's *
Fri. April 5 - San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore *
Fri. April 26 - Marfa, TX @ Marfa Myths
Sat. May 25 - Madrid, ES @ Tomavistas
Tue. May 28 - Prague, CZ @ MeetFactory
Wed. May 29 - Berlin, DE @ Franzz Club
Thu. May 30 - Copenhagen, DK @ ALICE
Fri. May 31 - Hamburg, DE @ Nochtspeicher
Sat. June 1 - Gent, BE @ DOKBox
Mon. June 3 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso Noord
Tue. June 4 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Thu. June 6 - London, UK @ Hackney Arts Centre

* = with Sam Evian

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

deer hunting games free
January 24th 2019
1:06am

Nice single by Cass McCombs, I will surely buy his album this February 8.

Codycross
January 26th 2019
3:35am

I will surely buy his album this February

click here
February 28th 2019
6:56am

This song is my new favorite! It gives me good vibes every time I listen to it. Looking forward to seeing them in one of their music tours.