Cat Power Announces First Album in Six Years and Tour, Shares Video for Title Track “Wanderer”

Wanderer Due Out October 5 via Domino; One Song Features Lana Del Rey

Jul 18, 2018 Photography by Eliot Lee Hazel
Bookmark and Share


Cat Power (aka Chan Marshall) has announced a new album, Wanderer, and has shared a video for its short title track (also its opening track). Wanderer is due out October 5 via Domino and is her first for the label after spending most of her career on Matador. It's also Cat Power's first new album in six years, since 2012's Sun. Lana Del Rey is featured on one song, "Woman." Marshall has also announced some tour dates. Below is the video for "Wanderer," followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as her tour dates.

Marshall produced Wanderer herself and the album was written and recorded in Miami and Los Angeles over the course of the last few years. "Wanderer" is not the album's official first single, but is viewed more as an introduction to the album.

In a press release Marshall says the album's 11 tracks encompass "my journey so far. The course my life has taken in this journey - going from town to town, with my guitar, telling my tale; with reverence to the people who did this generations before me. Folk singers, blues singers, and everything in between. They were all wanderers, and I am lucky to be among them." 

Tickets for the upcoming tour dates go on sale this Friday, July 20, at 10 a.m. local time. 

Wanderer Tracklist:

01. Wanderer
02. In Your Face
03. You Get
04. Woman (feat. Lana Del Rey)
05. Horizon
06. Stay
07. Black
08. Robbin Hood
09. Nothing Really Matters
10. Me Voy
11. Wanderer / Exit

Cat Power Tour Dates:

Sat Sept 15 - Chicago, IL @ Riot Fest
Tues Sept 25 - Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre *
Thurs Sept 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Mann Center for the Performing Arts *
Fri Sept 28 - Columbia, MD @ Merriweather Post Pavilion *
Sun Sept 30 - New York, NY @ Forest Hills Stadium ^
Fri Oct 5 - Boston, MA @ Paradise Rock Club
Sat Oct 6 - South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground 
Mon Oct 8 - Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Tues Oct 9 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Thurs Oct 11 - Cleveland, OH  @ Agora Theater
Fri Oct 12 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall
Sat Oct 13 - Atlanta, GA @ Center Stage
Tues Oct 23 - Roundhouse - London, UK 
Thurs Oct 25 - Le Trianon - Paris, France
Fri Oct 26 - Ancienne Belgique, Brussels, BE
Sun Oct 28 - Astra - Berlin GE
Mon Oct 29 - X-Tra - Zurich, SW
Tues Oct 30 - Les Docks - Lausanne, SW
Thurs Nov 1 - Razzamatazz - Barcelona, SP
Fri Nov 2 - Circo Price - Madrid, SP
Mon Nov 5 - Estragon - Bologna, IT
Tues Nov 6 - Alcatraz - Milan, IT
Sat Nov 17 - Seattle, WA @ The Showbox
Sun Nov 18 - Portland, OR @ Roseland Theater
Wed Nov 21 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Theatre at Ace Hotel
Fri Nov 23 - Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory OC
Sat Nov 24 - San Diego, CA @ The Observatory North Park
Sun Nov 25 - Phoenix, AZ @ The Van Buren
Tues Nov 27 - Austin, TX @ Emo's
Wed Nov 28 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall 
Thurs Nov 29 - Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater
Wed Dec 19 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre

* with The National

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.