Cross Record Shares New Song “The Fly” and Announces Tour Dates and “Living Funerals”

Cross Record Due Out August 2 via Ba Da Bing

Jun 25, 2019 Photography by Jackson Montgomery Schwartz
Bookmark and Share


Cross Record is the project of Emily Cross, who is also the vocalist in Loma. Cross Record is releasing a new self-titled album on August 2 via Ba Da Bing and now she has shared a new song from it, "The Fly." She has also announced some new North American tour dates, as well as some "Living Funeral" events. Check out "The Fly" below, followed by the tour dates.  

Cross had this to say about the song in a press release: "I was thinking about the fragility of the mind under pressure, being on a brink of collapse and being aware of that, and finding the humor in it objectively. The fly in old oil paintings is a signifier of death and impermanence. The viewer sees all of the perfectly ripe fruits, flowering buds at the height of their glory--but it does all end some day. I suppose it's a song about brinks or being close to an edge: the edge of a meltdown, the edge between life and death, the moment you think you see something beautiful but it turns out to be a plastic bag, and that's funny sometimes."

The Cross Record live band features Cross on vocals alongside Taft Mashburn (vocals/keyboard), Greer Culbertson (vocals), Andrew Hulett (bass/synth), and Andrew Stevens (percussion). The "Living Funeral" ceremony is part of Cross' organization Steady Waves End of Life Services, which was founded by Cross in 2017, according to its website, "in order to serve and uphold the wishes of the dying. As an end-of-life doula, Emily offers her intuitive approach to those seeking assistance, or simply a calming presence. She regularly hosts Living Funeral Ceremonies with the intention of spurring a larger conversation surrounding death and dying within her community and beyond."

A press release describes the "Living Funeral" events as a "three-hour long experience which focuses on turning towards one's own mortality. Participants are faced with their own memorial, are told to write their last words, and then are lead through a death visualization. It is a truly transformative journey, bringing a new outlook on life as a whole."

Previously Cross shared Cross Record's first single, "PYSOL My Castle."

Loma also consists of Shearwater singer Jonathan Meiburg and former Cross Record member Dan Duszynski.

Read our 2018 interview with Loma.

 

Cross Record Tour Dates:

Wed. Sept. 4 - Marfa, TX @ Bar Nadar Pool & Grill
Thu. Sept. 5 - Phoenix, AX @ Lunchbox
Fri. Sept. 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater
Sun. Sept. 8 - San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord
Tue. Sept. 10 - Portland, OR @ Holocene
Thu. Sept. 12 - Seattle, WA @ Fremont Abbey
Sun. Sept. 15 - Minneapolis, MN @ Moon Palace Books
Tue. Sept. 17 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas Tavern
Fri. Sept. 20 - Fishkill, NY @ Likeminds Festival
Tue. Sept. 24 - Brooklyn, NY @ Trans-Pecos
Sun. Sept. 29 - Atlanta, GA @ The Earl

Living Funeral Dates (non-musical):

(all locations to be announced)

Sat. Sept. 7 - Los Angeles, CA
Mon. Sept. 9 - San Francisco, CA
Fri. Sept. 13 - Helena, MT
Sat. Sept. 14 - Fargo, ND
Sun. Sept. 16 - Chicago, IL
Sat. Sept. 21 - Fishkill, NY
Wed. Sept. 25 - Brooklyn, NY
Mon. Sept. 30 - New Orleans, LA

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.