Daniele Luppi and Parquet Courts Share New Song “Talisa” Featuring Karen O

MILANO Due Out October 27 via 30th Century

Sep 06, 2017 Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Parquet Courts have teamed up with Daniele Luppi for a new collaborative concept album, MILANO, due out October 27 via 30th Century. Previously they shared the song "Soul and Cigarette." Now they have shared another song from the album, "Talisa," which features the vocals of Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Karen O. Listen below.

"Talisa" is described in a press release as "a love letter" to Talisa Soto, who was "a model and actress who was a dear friend and muse of revered designer Gianni Versace. Celebrated for her model-esque figure and striking beauty, Talisa appeared in numerous Versace ad campaigns at the height of the brand's fabled existence. Talisa's comely face was regularly plastered on billboards across Milan and she was a steady presence on the catwalks during Milan Fashion Week." She was also a Bond Girl, opposite Timothy Dalton in 1989's License to Kill.

Luppi had this to say about the song in a press release: "For Talisa's lyrics, Karen and I dreamed up a fantasy photoshoot, à la Antonioni's Blow Up. We imagined a scenario where Talisa is on set in a fantastical couture creation and Gianni himself is the photographer. We wanted to capture the excitement, vibrancy and fast lane life of Milano in the '80s, draped in fashion and models, as cliché as that may seem."

A press release describes the album as such: "MILANO is comprised of songs that are fictionalized stories about misfits, fashionistas, outcasts and junkies in mid-1980s Milan. Daniele teamed up with Parquet Courts and Yeah Yeah Yeah's vocalist, Karen O, to help deliver his vision of an emerging youth culture struggling to be heard amidst the rapid gentrification of old Milan." 

Parquet Courts released their excellent latest album, Human Performance, last year via Rough Trade. Parquet Courts frontman Andrew Savage is releasing his debut solo album, Thawing Dawn, under the name A. Savage on October 13 via Dull Tolls.

Read our 2016 interview with Parquet Courts.

A. Savage Tour Dates:

Wed. Nov. 1 - Pittsburgh, PA @ The Funhouse at Mr. Smalls w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 2 - Chicago, IL @ The Empty Bottle w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 3 - Detroit, MI @ Jumbo's w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 4 - Columbus,OH @ Double Happiness w/ Jack Cooper
Sun. Nov. 5 - Louisville, KY @ Kaiju w/ Jack Cooper 
Mon. Nov. 6 - Nashville, TN @ The End w/ Jack Cooper
Wed. Nov. 8 - Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn w/ Jack Cooper 
Thu. Nov. 9 - Durham,NC @ The Pinhook w/ Jack Cooper
Fri. Nov. 10 - Washington, DC @ DC9 w/ Jack Cooper
Sat. Nov. 11- Brooklyn, NY @ Murmrr Ballroom w/ Jack Cooper
Thu. Nov. 30 - Philadelphia, PA @ PhilaMOCA
Fri. Dec. 1 -Jersey City, NJ @ Monty Hall
Sat. Dec. 2 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Sun. Dec. 3 - Allston, MA @ The Great Scott
Mon. Dec. 4 - Montreal, QC @ l'Escogriffe Bar Spectacle
Tue. Dec. 5 - Toronto, ON @ The Garrison
 
Parquet Courts Tour Dates:

Thu. Nov. 16 - Detroit, MI @ El Club
Fri. Nov. 17 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop
Fri. Dec. 15 - Sat. Dec. 16 - Buenos Aires, AR @ Festival BUE

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.