Drive-By Truckers Dust Off Old Tracks For Rarities Album | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Tuesday, June 2nd, 2020  

Drive-By Truckers Dust Off Old Tracks For Rarities Album

Austin City Limits CD / DVD Coming July 7th

Jun 09, 2009
Bookmark and Share

Some die-hard Drive-By Truckers (DBT) fans were a little put off by the Athens, GA unit becoming slightly more countrified on their last studio album, Brighter Than Creation's Dark. Many welcomed the change-up (including myself) but a forthcoming odds-and-sodds compilation, entitled The Fine Print (A Collection Of Oddities and Rarities 2003-2008), looks to be tailor-made for devotees of the band's more Southern-rock-centric period. DBT's been exploring that "Southern Thing" for 13 years and during seven albums they've amass quite a bit of extra material. Justly, the DBT crew recently dug through the New West Records vaults, with the helping hand of longtime producer Dave Barbe, to spit-shine some forgotten cuts. As far as the aforementioned Southern rock emphasis is concerned, The Fine Print (Wes Freed's longstanding DBT artwork agreement continues to the right) will feature seven tracks from the highly fertile Dirty South era. The LP also contains four covers, including "Rebels" by Tom Petty, which the band recorded originally for the TV show King of the Hill, and "Like a Rolling Stone" by Bob Dylan, which gave Shonna Tucker her inaugural lead DBT vocal. The Fine Print is available on CD, double vinyl, and digital download on September 1st.

On July 7th, New West will also release DBT's entire September 26, 2008 Austin City Limits performance as a CD/DVD combination. The Live From Austin, TX performance was during the Brighter Than Creation's Dark tour. Thirteen old and new tracks, were filmed in juicy Hi-Def and recorded in tire squealing 5.1 Surround Sound. The band line-up featured on the video was Patterson Hood, Mike Cooley, Shonna Tucker, John Neff, Brad Morgan, and Jay Gonzalez. Speaking of live performances, Booker T and DBT are performing at Bonnaroo's Which stage this Saturday (June 13th). In other Drive-By Truckers news, lead singer/DBT co-founder Patterson Hood's is prepping and touring in support of his new solo album Murdering Oscar (and other love songs) for its June 23rd release. The tracklists for The Fine Print and Live From Austin, TX are below:

The Fine Print tracklist:

1. George Jones Talkin' Cell Phone Blues
2. Rebels
3. Uncle Frank (alternate version)
4. TVA
5. Goode's Field Road (alternate version)
6. The Great Car Dealer War
7. Mama Bake A Pie (Daddy Kill A Chicken)
8. When The Well Runs Dry
9. Mrs. Claus' Kimono
10. Play It All Night Long
11. Little Pony And The Great Big Horse
12. Like A Rolling Stone

Live From Austin, TX tracklist:

1. Perfect Timing
2. Heathens
3. A Ghost To Most
4. The Righteous Path
5. I'm Sorry Huston
6. 3 Dimes Down
7. Puttin' People On The Moon
8. Space City
9. The Living Bubba
10. Zip City
11. 18 Wheels Of Love
12. Let There Be Rock
13. Marry Me


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.