Gang Gang Dance Announce September Tour Dates | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Saturday, May 30th, 2020  

Gang Gang Dance Announce September Tour Dates

Kazuashita Out Now via 4AD

Jun 25, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Gang Gang Dance released a new album, Kazuashita, last week via 4AD. Kazuashita is the band's first album in seven years, since 2011's Eye Contact. Now they have announced some September tour dates. Check them out below, followed by the recent single "Young Boy (Marika in Amerika)."

In other Gang Gang Dance news, this Thursday their Morning Becomes Eclectic session will air on Los Angeles radio station KCRW. Tomorrow (Tuesday, June 26) at 12:30 p.m. Eastern Time they are appearing on Red Bull Radios Peak Time show and at 4:00 p.m Eastern Time they  are participating in an AMA on the /r/indieheadssubreddit.

Previously Gang Gang Dance shared Kazuashita's first single, "Lotus" (which was one of our Songs of the Week). That was followed by another song from the album, "J-TREE" (which was also one of our Songs of the Week). "J-Tree" featured a spoken word sample of Shiyé Bidziil of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe speaking out against the construction of the Dakota Access Pipeline through sacred Native American burial lands. 

Gang Gang Dance is Lizzi Bougatsos, Brian DeGraw, and Josh Diamond. DeGraw produced the album, which was recorded in several New York recording studios and art spaces and also features drummer Ryan Sawyer and Jorge Elbrecht (who contributed additional production and mixing duties).

Gang Gang Dance Tour Dates:

Sat Jun 30 The Broad Summer Happening of 2018 Los Angeles CA*
Sat Jul 28 The Underground Music Showcase Denver CO^
Sat Sep 01 MoMA PS1 Warm Up Long Island City NY #
Thu Sep 6 Boot & Saddle Philadelphia PA
Fri Sep 7 Metro Gallery Baltimore MD
Thu Sep 06 - Sat Sep 08 Hopscotch Music Festival Raleigh NC%
Mon Sep 10 The Empty Bottle Chicago IL
Tue Sep 11 El Club Detroit MI
Wed Sep 12 Velvet Underground Toronto ON
Thu Sep 13 Theatre Fairmount Montreal QC
Fri Sep 14 3S Artspace Portsmouth NH
Sat Sep 15 Great Scott Allston MA
Tue Oct 23 Big Cat, Osaka Japan [SOLD OUT]+
Wed Oct 24 Electric Ladyland, Nagoya Japan+
Thu Oct 25 O-East, Tokyo Japan+

* w/ DJ Stretch Armstrong, Terry Riley, Zap Mama and more
^ w/ Deerhunter, Frankie Cosmos, Night Beats and more
% w/ Grizzly Bear, Belle and Sebastian, Miguel and more
# w/ Discwoman, Lizzo and more
+ w/ Deerhunter

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.