HÆLOS Share New Song “Another Universe” and Announce UK/EU Tour Dates | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Sunday, October 20th, 2019  

HÆLOS Share New Song “Another Universe” and Announce UK/EU Tour Dates

Any Random Kindness Due Out May 10 via Infectious

May 02, 2019
Bookmark and Share


London-based band HÆLOS are releasing a new album, Any Random Kindness, on May 10 via Infectious. Now they have shared another song from it, "Another Universe," which will be the album's last pre-release single. They have also announced some new UK and European tour dates. Check out the song and tour dates below.

The band's Lotti Benardout had this to say about the song in a press release: "The first lyric - 'Come down from heaven now'- came out almost subconsciously. A few months later my dad sadly passed away in an accident. It's eerie for me to listen to now because the song is almost like a prediction, written to help navigate the difficult questions that came with his loss - If you took a different decision, where would you be now? Would things be different?"

Any Random Kindness is the band's second album, the follow-up to 2016's debut full-length, Full Circle, which was released via Matador. The album includes "Buried in the Sand," a new song the band shared back in October via a video (it was one of our Songs of the Week), and "Kyoto," a new song shared in January via a video for it (it was also one of our Songs of the Week). Then they shared another new song from the album, "Boy / Girl." That was followed by "End of the World Party" (which also made our Songs of the Week list).

HÆLOS were originally a trio (Arthur Delaney, Dom Goldsmith, and Lotti Benardout), but have now added touring member Daniel Vildósola. On their debut the band pulled from '90s trip-hop sounds originated by Massive Attack and Portishead for inspiration.

Orlando Leopard produced the album, which was recorded at Baltic Studios in East London and at their home studio. Matt Wiggins (Glass Animals) and Marta Salongi (The xx) mixed the album.

A press release points out: "The latter part of the recording was especially tense, with many near breakups. However, this process led to a new, optimistic perception of each other, and music that explored the push and pull of relationships. A new, increasingly dance-floor oriented direction to their sound emerged."

Read our 2015 article on HÆLOS.

HÆLOS Tour Dates:

Fri. May 10 - Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape
Wed. May 15 - Rough Trade East, London
Thu. May 16 - London, UK @ EartH (Hackney Arts Centre) SOLD OUT
Fri. June 7 - Sat. June 8 - London, UK @ Field Day
Tue. Oct. 8 - Prague, CZ @ Rock Café
Wed. Oct. 9 - Vienna, AT @ Grelle Forelle
Thu. Oct. 10 - Berlin, DE @ Frannz Club
Fri. Oct. 11 - Hamburg, DE @ Waagenbau
Mon. Oct. 14 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Tue. Oct. 15 - Antwerp, BE @ Trix Club
Sat. Oct. 19 - Belfast, IE @ Voodoo
Sun. Oct. 20 - Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Tue. Oct. 22 - Glasgow, UK @ SWG3 (Warehouse)
Wed. Oct. 23 - Manchester, UL @ Band On The Wall
Thu. Oct. 24 - Leeds, UK @ Wardrobe
Sat. Oct. 26 - Nottingham, UK @ Metronome
Sun. Oct. 27 - Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Tue. Oct. 29 - London, UK @ Electric Brixton

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.