James Mercer and Danger Mouse’s Broken Bells Album Release | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, February 26th, 2021  

James Mercer and Danger Mouse’s Broken Bells to Release Album in March

Broken Bells’ Self-Titled Debut Out March 9th on Columbia

Dec 15, 2009 Bookmark and Share

James Mercer, frontman of The Shins, and Brian Burton (aka Danger Mouse) have formed a new band named Broken Bells. Their debut self-titled album will be out March 9th on Columbia Records. The first single "The High Road" will be available at brokenbells.com come December 21. The single should wet the palate for the 10-song album, which was described in a press release as "melodically seductive and psychologically provocative."

The full tracklist has yet to be announced, but some song titles have been revealed: "The High Road," "Vaporize," "Your Head Is On Fire," "The Ghost Inside," "Sailing to Nowhere," "Trap Doors," "Citizen," and "The Mall and Misery."

Mercer and Burton first met in 2004, backstage at Denmark's Roskilde Festival. Mercer sings vocals on the album and plays guitar and bass. Burton mans the drums, piano, and organ. Burton also produced the album, in Los Angeles. The duo play all of the instruments on the album, with the exception of a full string section, which was arranged by Daniele Luppi.




Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.