Jim James Announces New Live Album Recorded with an Orchestra, Shares New Track “Set It to Song” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, February 25th, 2021  

Jim James Announces New Live Album Recorded with an Orchestra, Shares New Track “Set It to Song”

The Order of Nature is a Collaboration with Teddy Abrams and is Due Out October 18 via Decca Gold

Aug 23, 2019
Bookmark and Share

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James has announced The Order of Nature, a new live album recorded with an orchestra in collaboration with conductor/arranger/composer Teddy Abrams, and has shared its first track, "Set It to Song." James and Abrams have also announced some special orchestral concerts. The Order of Nature was recorded with The Louisville Orchestra in 2018 and is due out October 18 via Decca Gold. Check out "Set It to Song" below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as info on the shows.

The Order of Nature was performed on April 6-7, 2018 as part of the Louisville Orchestra's annual Festival of American Music. The April 7 performance is the one that made it on the album. It was recorded in one take and features no overdubs. The album features some of James' previous songs, as well as new songs. Abrams spent several months working on the arrangements.

James had this to say about the album in a press release: "The core idea to me is trying to reflect on the fact that nature doesn't know how to hate. Humans are part of nature obviously, but why do we have this thing called hatred and how do we get rid of it? We're fighting nature and thinking we can prevail over nature, but we're killing each other and killing the planet."

Abrams had this to say: "We're really looking at addressing things head on. That was an interest of mine in working with Jim because he has a way of taking on challenging and divisive issues and presenting them in ways that everybody can relate to, even if you're from different political backgrounds."

James adds: "For me it was very inspiring, and it was also inspiring to hear what Teddy wrote, and I really enjoyed just giving him this seed of a song and just watching it flower." 

Read our interview with Jim James on the 2018 midterm elections.

The Order of Nature Tracklist:

1. Walking in the Snow
2. Here in Spirit
3. The Human Touch
4. In Demand
5. Back to the End of the World
6. Who Am I?
7. Over and Over
8. Set It to Song
9. Same Old Lie

Jim James and Teddy Abrams - U.S. Dates:



4 - Washington, DC - The Kennedy Center w/the National Symphony



12 - Seattle, WA - Benaroya Hall w/the Seattle Symphony
15 - Denver, CO - w/the Colorado Symphony

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.