Kaputt! A New Destroyer Album | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, March 5th, 2021  

Kaputt! A New Destroyer Album

Due Out January 25th on Merge

Oct 15, 2010 Bookmark and Share

Destroyer, helmed by Dan Bejar, is set to release their ninth album Kaputt, out January 25th via Merge. While the track list is pretty straightforward, the press release clearly isn’t.  Let us know if you get any of the oblique references below. 

Bejar: "Kaputt by Malaparte, which Bejar has never read… Kara Walker, specifically the lyrics she contributed to the song 'Suicide Demo for Kara Walker'… Chinatown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar's… Baby blue eyes… 80s Miles Davis… 90s Gil Evans… Last Tango in Paris… Nic Bragg, who played lead guitar on every song, again… Fretless bass… The hopelessness of the future of music… The pointlessness of writing songs for today… V-Drums… The superiority of poetry and plays… And what's to become of film?… The Cocaine Addict… American Communism… Downtown, the neighborhood bordering on Bejar's… The LinnDrum… Avalon and, more specifically, Boys and Girls… The devastated mind of JC/DC, who recorded, produced and mixed this record from fall of 2008 to spring of 2010… The back-up vocals of certain Roy Ayers and Long John Baldry tours… Merry Christmas, Mr. Lawrence…"


01 Chinatown
02 Blue Eyes
03 Savage Night at the Opera
04 Suicide Demo for Kara Walker
05 Poor in Love
06 Kaputt
07 Downtown
08 Song for America
09 Bay of Pigs (Detail)

(via P4k)



Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

October 19th 2010

Destroyer actually isn’t a New Pornographers side project - Dan Bejar began performing as Destroyer in 1995, releasing his first album in 1996. New Pornographers was founded in 1997, and co-opted Bejar as a contributor beginning with 2000’s “Mass Romantic.” By that time, Bejar had recorded 4 albums under the Destroyer moniker.