King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Announce Two New Albums, Share New Song “Automation” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Monday, November 23rd, 2020  

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard Announce Two New Albums, Share New Song “Automation”

K.G. and Live In S.F. ’16 Both Due Out November 20

Oct 21, 2020
Bookmark and Share

Prolific Melbourne psych-rock adventurers King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard have announced two new album: K.G. (a new studio album) and Live In S.F. ’16 (a live album). They have shared the new song “Automation” from the former. Both albums are due out November 20, with K.G. a self-release and Live In S.F. ’16 out via ATO. Check out “Automation” below, followed by each album’s tracklist and cover art. 

K.G. includes three songs already shared this year: “Honey,” “Some of Us,” and “Straws in the Wind.” It is said to be a sequel of sorts to 2017’s Flying Microtonal Banana

FMB was one of the purest and most enjoyable recording experiences we’ve had, and the ideas just kept coming,” says the band’s Stu Mackenzie in a press release. “But we didn’t think we would play it live as the music dictated a new medium that requires different instruments, new flight cases and so. It was a liberating studio-based experiment which surprisingly translated seamlessly and spawned some of favorite songs to play live.”  

In April they released the Chunky Shrapnel live album and concert film. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard’s last studio album, Infest the Rats’ Nest, which was a thrash metal record, was released in 2019 via ATO (read our review here). It came out only five months after the release of their previous studio album, Fishing for Fishies. The band released five studio albums in 2017, but took 2018 off in terms of putting out new albums (although they did reissue some earlier records). 

“Ten years ago I was 19 and older peers that I looked up to were telling me that music was something you did for a few years, then give up and get a job,” says MacKenzie in the press release. “That was really depressing to me because I was having so much fun, living hedonistically and finding my way. Because I’d picked up a guitar quite late I was playing catch-up to all my friends, so it felt like I had a three or four year window before I was going to be pushed off a cliff. It literally felt like creative death was imminent. So I never foresaw this as a career. God no. And I’ve still managed to avoid getting a job.” 

Read our review of Chunky Shrapnel.

K.G. Tracklist: 

01 K.G.L.W.
02 Automation
03 Minimum Brain Size
04 Straws in the Wind
05 Some of Us
06 Ontology
07 Intrasport
08 Oddlife
09 Honey
10 The Hungry Wolf of Fate 

Live in S.F. ’16 Tracklist: 

01 Robot Stop
02 Hot Water
03 Big Fig Wasp
04 Gamma Knife
05 People-Vultures
06 Trapdoor
07 I’m in Your Mind
08 I’m Not in Your Mind
09 Cellophane
10 I’m in Your Mind Fuzz
11 The River
12 Evil Death Roll
13 Head On/Pill 

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.