Listen: Big Thief - "Shark Smile" | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Tuesday, October 26th, 2021  

Listen: Big Thief - “Shark Smile”

Capacity Due Out June 9 via Saddle Creek

May 08, 2017 Big Thief
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: {article-find} {name} {/article-find}

Big Thief just released their debut album, Masterpiece, last May on Saddle Creek, but they have already have their sophomore album, Capacity, coming out on June 9, also on Saddle Creek. Previously they shared the snowy video for the album’s first single “Mythological Beauty.” Now they have shared another song from the album, “Shark Smile.” Listen below, followed by the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Big Thief’s singer/songwriter/guitarist Adrianne Lenker had this to say about the song in a press release: “Shark Smile is the story of a car accident in which one dies and one lives. She recalls her lover leading up to the moment of the wreck, wishing she’d been taken into the next realm, too.”

Lenker had this to say about the album in a previous press release: “There is a darker darkness and a lighter light on this album. The songs search for a deeper level of self-acceptance, to embrace the world within and without. I think Masterpiece began that process, as a first reaction from inside the pain, and Capacity continues that examination with a wider perspective.”

Read our 2016 Pleased to Meet You interview with Big Thief.

Big Thief Tour Dates:

Sun. May 7 - Winooski, VT @ Waking Windows Music & Arts Festival
Wed. May 31 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre w/ Conor Oberst
Thu. June 1 - Nelsonville, OH @ Nelsonville Art & Music Festival
Fri. June 2 - Richmond, VA @ Friday Cheers at Brown’s Island w/ Conor Oberst
Sat. June 3 - Norfolk, VA @ The NorVa w/ Conor Oberst
Sun. June 4 - Wilmington, NC @ The Throne Theater w/ Conor Oberst
Tue. June 6 - Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar w/ Twain
Wed. June 7 - Lancaster, PA @ Arcade Lancaster w/ Twain
Fri. June 9 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC
Thu. June 22 - Kingston, NY @ BSP Kingston w/ Twain
Sat. June 24 - North Adams, MA @ Solid Sound Festival
Tue. June 27 - Montreal, QC @ Bar Le “Ritz” P.D.B. w/ Twain
Wed. June 28 - Toronto, ON @ The Legendary Horseshoe Tavern w/ Twain
Thu. June 29 - Buffalo, NY @ Traif MusicHall w/ Twain
Fri. June 30 - Toledo, OH @ Ottawa Tavern w/ Twain
Sat. July 1 - Kalamazoo, MI @ Bell’s Eccentric Cafe w/ Twain
Sun. July 2 - Milwaukee, WI @ Summerfest
Mon. July 3 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon w/ Twain
Wed. July 5 - Minneapolis, MN @ Cedar Cultural Center w/ Twain
Thu. July 6 - Sun. July 9 - Winnipeg, MB @ Winnipeg Folk Festival
Mon. July 10 - Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium w/ Twain
Tue. July 11 - Des Moines, IA @ Vaudeville Mews w/ Twain
Wed. July 12 - St. Louis, MO @ Old Rock House w/ Twain
Thu. July 13 - Omaha, NE @ The Waiting Room - Outside w/ Conor Oberst
Fri. July 14 - Springfield, MO @ Gillioz Theatre w/ Conor Oberst
Fri. July 14 - Sun. July 16 - Louisville KY @ Forecastle Festival
Mon. July 17 - Chicago, IL @ Millennium Park w/ Overcoats
Thu. July 20 - Brooklyn, NY @ Celebrate Brooklyn! w/ Conor Oberst, Hop Along
Sat. July 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Festival
Fri. July 28 - Newport, RI @ Newport Folk Festival
Sat. July 29 - Boston, MA @ Blue Hills Bank Pavilion w/ The Head and the Heart
Sun. July 30 - Portland, ME @ Thompson’s Point w/ Wilco
Fri. Aug. 4 & Sat. Aug. 5 - Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon Festival
Tue. Aug. 8 - Seattle, WA @ Paramount Theatre w/ Belle and Sebastian
Sat. Aug. 12 - Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West Festival
Mon. Aug. 14 - Antwerp, BE @ Rivierenhof Theater w/ Conor Oberst, M. Ward
Tue. Aug. 15 - Frankfurt, DE @ Batchkapp w/ Conor Oberst
Wed. Aug. 16 - Erlangen, DE @ E-Werk w/ Conor Oberst
Thu. Aug. 17 - Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg w/ Conor Oberst
Fri. Aug. 18 - London, UK @ Koko w/ Conor Oberst
Sat. Aug. 19 - Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 - Stirling, UK @ Doune the Rabbit Hole
Mon. Aug. 21 - Liverpool, UK @ Academy w/ Conor Oberst
Tue. Aug. 22 - Glasgow, UK @ ABC w/ Conor Oberst

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.