Listen: Laura Veirs - "Watch Fire" (Feat. Sufjan Stevens) | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Friday, June 5th, 2020  

Listen: Laura Veirs - “Watch Fire” (Feat. Sufjan Stevens)

The Lookout Due Out April 13 via Raven Marching Band

Feb 28, 2018 Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Longtime Pacific Northwest singer/songwriter Laura Veirs is releasing a new album, The Lookout, her tenth solo album, on April 13 via Raven Marching Band Records. Previously the album's first single, "Everybody Needs You," was one of our Songs of the Week. Now she has shared another song from the album, "Watch Fire," which features backing vocals from Sufjan Stevens. Listen below, followed by her upcoming tour dates.

Tucker Martine produced the album, which also features guest vocals from My Morning Jacket's Jim James.

Veirs had this to say about the album in a previous press release: "The Lookout is about the need to pay attention to the fleeting beauty of life and to not be complacent; it's about the importance of looking out for each other. I'm addressing what's happening around me with the chaos of post-election America, the racial divides in our country, and a personal reckoning with the realities of midlife: I have friends who've died; I struggle with how to balance life as an artist with parenting young children."

Laura Veirs Tour Dates:

Fri. Apr. 13 - St. Paul, MN @ The O'Shaughnessy Auditorium (St. Catherine University)
Sat. Apr. 14 - Pittsburg, PA @ Club Café (WYEP) *
Sun. Apr. 15 - Charleston, WV @ Mountain Stage *
Tue. Apr. 17 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel *
Wed. Apr. 18 - Knoxville, TN @ Bijou Theatre *
Thu. Apr. 19 - Saxaphaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom *
Sat. Apr. 21 - Macon, GA @ Hargray Capitol Theatre *
Sun. Apr. 29 - Portland, OR @ Music Millenium
Fri. May 18 - Seattle, WA @ Fremont Abbey Arts Center
Sat. May 19 - Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Mon. May 21 - San Francisco, CA @ The Chapel
Tue. May 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Thu. May 24 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade
Fri. May 25 - Cambridge, MA @ Middle East (upstairs)
Sat. May 26 - Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle
Sun. May 27 - Washington, DC @ Union Stage
Tue. May 29 - Paris, FR @ Le Café de la Danse
Wed. May 30 - Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique (upstairs)
Thu. May 31 - Amsterdam, NE @ Bitterzoet
Sat. June 2 - Sheffield, UK @ The HUBs
Sun. June 3 - Leeds, UK @ Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Mon. June 4 - Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK @ The Cluny
Tue. June 5 - Glasgow, SCT @ Oran Mor
Wed. June 6 - Manchester, UK @ The Deaf Institute
Fri. June 8 - London, UK @ Union Chapel
Sat. June 9 - Cardiff, WAL @ Church of St. John the Evangelist
Sun. June 10 - Bristol, UK @ The Thekla
Mon. June 11 - Brighton, East Sussex, UK @ The Komedia
 
* w/ M. Ward

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.