Listen to Previously Unreleased Elliott Smith Song - "I Figured You Out" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, July 2nd, 2020  

Listen to Previously Unreleased Elliott Smith Song - “I Figured You Out”

Either/Or: Expanded Edition Due Out March 10 via Kill Rock Stars

Jan 04, 2017 Bookmark and Share

Elliott Smith's 1997 classic Either/Or is getting a 20th anniversary reissue. The Expanded Edition is due out March 10 via Kill Rock Stars and includes five live tracks and four unreleased and rare tracks. Below is the previously unreleased song, "I Figured You Out." It was recorded by Smith at Heatmiser House in 1995 as a demo for Mary Lou Lord. Lord later recorded a version (which was produced, performed, recorded, and mixed by Smith) for her Martian Saints EP. Larry Crane, archivist of Smith's estate, mixed Smith's version of the song in 2010 at his Jackpot! Studios. Listen below, followed by the reissue's tracklist.

The Either/Or: Expanded Edition will be released as a double-LP, 2-CD, and digitally. Disc two includes five tracks recorded live at the Yo Yo A Go Go Festival in Olympia WA in 1997. Then there are three previously unreleased recordings and one rare B-side. There's also some never before seen photos.

Also, Under the Radar conducted the last ever interview and photo-shoot with Smith before his passing and you can read that here.

Either/Or: Expanded Edition Tracklist:
1. Speed Trials (remastered)
2. Alameda (remastered)
3. Ballad of Big Nothing (remastered)
4. Between the Bars (remastered)
5. Pictures of Me (remastered)
6. No Name No. 5 (remastered)
7. Rose Parade (remastered)
8. Punch and Judy (remastered)
9. Angeles (remastered)
10. Cupid's Trick (remastered)
11. 2:45 AM (remastered)
12. Say Yes (remastered)
13. My New Freedom (Live) (unreleased)
14. Pictures Of me (Live) (unreleased)
15. Angeles (Live) (unreleased)
16. Some Song (Live) (unreleased)
17. Rose Parade (Live) (unreleased)
18. New Monkey (keys) (unreleased)
19. I Don't Think I'm Ever Gonna Figure It Out (remixed/remastered)
20. I Figured You Out (unreleased)
21. Bottle Up And Explode (Alternate Version) (unreleased)


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.