Mac DeMarco Shares Bizarre and Unsettling David Lynch-ian Video for New Song “On the Square” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Tuesday, December 10th, 2019  

Mac DeMarco Shares Bizarre and Unsettling David Lynch-ian Video for New Song “On the Square”

Here Comes the Cowboy Due Out This Friday on Mac’s Record Label

May 07, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Mac DeMarco is releasing a new album, Here Comes the Cowboy, this Friday on Mac's Record Label (that's actually the name of his new label). Now he has shared another song from the album, "On the Square," via a bizarre and unsettling video for the song that has a bit of a David Lynch vibe. It features strange cat and pig people, among other things. William Sipos and Sean Campos directed the video, which stars Tommy Midnight. Watch it below, followed by DeMarco's upcoming tour dates.

Sipos had this to say about the video in a press release: "This video has been my most intimate experience with milk yet. At one point I had Mac in a latex mask, shivering in a kiddie pool filled with cold milk. I did not feel like a nice person."

Previously DeMarco shared a video for the album's first single, "Nobody." Then he shared the audio for its second single, "All of Our Yesterdays."

Then he stopped by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon to perform "All of Our Yesterdays." A week later The Tonight Show shared a video of DeMarco covering Feist's "One Evening" (from her 2004 album Let It Die) backstage with his band.

DeMarco wrote, tracked, and mixed Here Comes the Cowboy at his Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles "during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January, 2019." DeMarco played almost every instrument on the album, except from some keyboards here and there by touring member Alec Meen. Joe Santarpia shares engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.
 
The album cover features "a rusty old grinning pin" that "was purchased from a man in the mountains somewhere in the Nantahala National Forest between Chattanooga, TN and Asheville, NC."

DeMarco had this to say about the album in a previous press release: "This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren't the people I'm referring to."

DeMarco's last album, This Old Dog, came out in 2017. Read our review of This Old Dog.

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:

Tue. May 7 - Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery - Outdoor Amphitheater Stage
Thu. May 9 - Eugene, OR @ McDonald Theatre
Fri. May 10 - Portland, OR @ Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall
Sat. May 11 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo - SOLD OUT
Sun. May 12 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Mon. May 13 - Seattle, WA @ Showbox Sodo
Wed. May 15 - Blue Lake, CA @ Blue Lake Casino
Thu. May 16 - Sacramento, CA @ Ace of Spades - SOLD OUT
Sat. May 18 - San Francisco, CA @ Bill Graham Civic Auditorium
Sun. May 19 - Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst
Mon. May 20 - Big Sur, CA @ The Henry Miller Library
Tue. May 21 - Big Sur, CA @ Fernwood Resort - SOLD OUT
Wed. May 22 - San Luis Obispo, CA @ Expo Center at Madonna Inn - SOLD OUT
Thu. May 30 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. June 1 - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Sun. June 2 - London, UK @ All Points East Festival
Tue. June 11 - Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center w/ Anderson .Paak & The Free Nationals
Wed. June 12 - Dallas, TX @ Toyota Music Factory w/ Anderson. Paak & The Free Nationals
Fri. June 14 - Austin, TX @ Long Center Lawn Amphitheater
Sun. June 16 - Manchester, TN @ Bonnaroo
Wed. June 26 - Glasgow, UK @ Kelvingrove Bandstand - SOLD OUT
Thu. June 27 - Halifax, UK @ Halifax Piece Hall
Sat. June 29 - Margate, UK @ Dreamland
Sun. June 30 -  Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Tue. July 2 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. July 3 - Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene
Thu. July 4 - Stockholm, SE @ München Brewery
Sat. July 6 - Herouville-Saint-Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard
Mon. July 8 - Milan, IT@ Magnolia
Tue. July 9 - Montreux, CH @ Montreux Jazz Festival
Wed. July 10 - Lyon, FR @ Les Nuits de Fourvière
Fri. July 12 - Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival
Sun. July 14 - Dublin, IE @ Iveagh Gardens
Sun. Aug. 4 - Montreal, QC @ Osheaga
Tue. Aug. 6 - Brooklyn, NY @ Prospect Park Bandshell
Fri. Sept. 13 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre
Fri. Sept. 20 - Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Sat. Sept. 21 - Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall (Outdoors)
Sun. Sept. 22 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre Boston
Tue. Sept. 24 - Toronto, ON @ Woodbine Park
Thu. Sept. 26 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 - Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre
Sat. Sept. 28 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre - SOLD OUT
Sun. Sept. 29 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Tue. Oct. 1 - Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Wed. Oct. 2 - St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Thu. Oct. 3 - East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt
Fri. Oct. 4 - Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Sun. Oct. 6 - Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Wed. Nov. 6 - Sat. Nov. 9 - Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sat. Nov. 9 - Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sun. Nov. 10 - Hamburg, DE @ Grosse Freiheit 36
Mon. Nov. 11 - Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle
Wed. Nov. 13 - Brussels, BE @ AB Main Hall
Fri. Nov. 15 - Paris, FR @ Zenith
Sat. Nov. 16 - Rennes, FR @ Liberté
Sun. Nov. 17 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef
Tue. Nov. 19 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.