Moon Duo Share New Song “Eternal Shore” | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, October 21st, 2021  

Moon Duo Share New Song “Eternal Shore”

Stars Are the Light Due Out September 27 via Sacred Bones

Sep 10, 2019 Moon Duo
Bookmark and Share


Moon Duo (aka Ripley Johnson and Sanae Yamada) are releasing a new album, Stars Are the Light, on September 27 via Sacred Bones. Now they have shared another song from the album, “Eternal Shore,” the album’s final pre-release single. Listen below, followed by the band’s upcoming tour dates.

Yamada had this to say about the song in a press release: “The lyrics are about the search for a sense of belonging and for the truth of one’s inner being, beneath the masks we’re conditioned to wear in order to function in society.”

Johnson added: “We were experimenting with a lot of different rhythms for this record, and this one is in 5/8ths time, which is a real departure for us. It moves us further away from the classic motorik beat. And it’s special because it’s the first song on which Sanae wrote the lyrics and sings lead.”

Previously Stars Are the Light track “Lost Heads” was one of our Songs of the Week. It would appeal to fans of Johnson’s other band, psych rock mainstays Wooden Shjips.

Sonic Boom (aka Peter Kember of Spacemen 3 and Spectrum) mixed Stars Are the Light in Portugal’s Serra de Sintra. A press release announcing the album described its sound this way: “Taking disco as its groove-oriented departure point, Stars Are the Light shimmers with elements of ‘70s funk and ‘90s rave.”

Yamada had this to say about the album in a press release: “We have changed, the nature of our collaboration has changed, the world has changed, and we wanted the new music to reflect that.”

Moon Duo Tour Dates:

Thu. Oct. 17 - Ghent, BE @ Videodroom
Fri. Oct. 18 - Krakow, PL @ Malopolski Garden Of The Arts
Sun. Oct. 20 - Amsterdam, DK @ Paradiso Noord
Mon. Oct. 21 - Berlin, DE @ Volksbuhne
Wed. Oct. 23 - Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Oct. 24 - Vevey, CH @ Rocking Chair
Sat. Oct. 26 - Angers, FR @ Le Chabada
Mon. Oct. 28 - London, UK @ Earth
Tue. Oct. 29 - Manchester, UK @ Dancehouse
Wed. Oct. 30 - Liverpool, UK @ Invisible Wind Factory
Thu. Oct. 31 - Glasgow, UK @ BAAD
Fri. Nov. 1 - Birmingham, UK @ The Crossing
Sat. Nov. 2 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell
Sun. Nov. 3 - Gateshead, UK @ The Sage
Mon. Nov. 4 - Brighton, UK @ St. Bartholomew’s Church
Tue. Nov. 5 - Paris, FR @ Petit Bain
Wed. Nov. 6 - Charleroi, BE @ Rockerill
Thu. Nov. 7 - Luxembourg, LU @ De Gudde Wëllen
Sat. Nov. 9 - Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who
Tue. Nov. 12 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Nov. 13 - Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts
Thu. Nov. 14 - Washington, DC @ Rock & Roll Hotel
Fri. Nov. 15 - Kingston, NY @ BSP
Sat. Nov. 16 - Montreal, QC @ SAT
Mon. Nov. 18 - Toronto, ON @ Longboat Hall
Tue. Nov. 19 - Detroit, MI @ MOCAD
Wed. Nov. 20 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. Nov. 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ Lodge Room
Sat. Nov. 23 - Oakland, CA @ The New Parish
Mon. Nov. 25 - Portland, OR @ Wonder Ballroom
Tue. Nov 26 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos
Wed. Nov. 27 - Vancouver, BC @ Venue

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.