Pram Announce First Album in 11 Years, Share Video for New Song “Shimmer and Disappear”

Across the Meridian Due Out July 20 via Domino

Jun 13, 2018
Bookmark and Share

Birmingham, England's Pram have announced a new album, Across the Meridian, and shared a video for its first single, "Shimmer and Disappear." It's the band's first album in 11 years, since 2007's The Moving Frontier, and is due out July 20 via Domino. Check out the video below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art.

The current Pram lineup is Matt Eaton, Sam Owen, Max Simpson, and Harry Dawes. The album was begun in a remote studio in Wales before being finished at their own studio in Birmingham.

A press release describes the album as such: "As with their previous albums, Across the Meridian mixes instrumentals and songs, weaving a gleeful path through the musical territory of film scores, 30s jazz, sun-drenched pop, electronica, and post-punk experimentation. Haunting and wistful vocals are set to a variety of soundscapes, sometimes appearing as a snatched fragment of the subconscious and dreamlike, at others crafting a story of longing or regret, drawing the listener into Pram's uncanny world through the mirror. Newcomers to Pram will find a richly detailed collage of influences ranging from exotica, Krautrock and the forgotten film soundtracks that went on to inspire contemporaries Stereolab & Broadcast."

Across the Meridian Tracklist:

01 Shimmer and Disappear
02 Thistledown
03 Electra
04 Wave of Translation
05 Shadow in Twilight
06 Ladder to the Moon
07 The Midnight Room
08 Footprints Towards Zero
09 Mayfly
10 Sailing Stones
11 Where the Sea Stops Moving
12 Doll's Eyes

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

June 13th 2018

Very Interesting :). I checked out the video and did like it. It was fun to watch something creative like that lol