Protomartyr Share “Don’t Go to Anacita” and Stream New Album via Dive Bar Jukeboxes

Relatives in Descent Due Out Friday via Domino

Sep 26, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Detroit-formed post punkers Protomartyr are releasing a new album, Relatives in Descent, this Friday (September 29) via Domino. Previously they shared a video for its first single (also its opening track), "A Private Understanding," and the audio for "My Children." Now they have shared another song from the album, "Don't Go to Anacita," via a black & white visual of the album being played in a CD jukebox. In fact they have shared the full album early via dive bar jukeboxes in New York and Detroit. Head to The Levee and Old Stanley's in Brooklyn, Bumbo's in Hamtramck (a city mainly surrounded by Detroit), or Bronx Bar in Detroit if you want to hear the album a few days early. But if that's not doable, listen to "Don't Go to Anacita" below.

A press release says "'Don't Go to Anacita' takes place in a fictional town of singer Joe Casey's invention, a sort of everytown created to catch Casey's ire." Below are the song's lyrics.

Relatives in Descent is the band's fourth album and is their first for Domino (their last two albums, 2014's Under the Color of Official Right and 2015's The Agent Intellect, were released by Hardly Art).

A previous press release said that "anxiety about the precarious nature of reality is a recurring thread on" the album. "Though not a concept album," the press release continues, "it presents twelve variations on a theme: the unknowable nature of truth, and the existential dread that often accompanies that unknowing. It's no coincidence this missive comes to us at a moment when disinformation and garbled newspeak have become a daily reality."

Protomartyr singer Joe Casey elaborated in the previous press release: "I used to think that truth was something that existed, that there were certain shared truths, like beauty. Now that's being eroded. People have never been more skeptical, and there's no shared reality. Maybe there never was."

"Don't Go to Anacita" Lyrics:

Against the sea, a hidden incorporated town 
That glows like zircon in a fire
Its straight white streets crawl with consumers and their dogs
Migrant workers tend the transplant poplars 
 
The liberal-minded here, they close their eyes and dream
Of technology and kombucha 
The anti-vagrant system sounds like 20 dollar bills
being sorted in a counter
 
Don't go to Anacita
They got their goon squads on patrol
Don't go to Anacita 
They're gonna throw you in a hole 
Uh oh
 
Behind their walls and gates the people fear a thief
That would steal money god put in their pockets
Their god is such a strange, vindictive beast
He only blesses those who prosper
 
Don't go to Anacita
They only love abstract unborn
Don't go to Anacita
Once you're out you're all on your own
Uh oh
 
Don't go there
 
Don't go to Anacita
They got their goon squads on patrol
Don't go to Anacita
You're better off living in a hole
Uh huh

Protomartyr Tour Dates:

Sat. Sep. 30 - Long Beach, CA @ Music Tastes Good
Sun. Oct. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/ Failed Flowers
Mon. Oct. 9 - Minneapolis, MN @ Turf Club w/ Failed Flowers
Thu. Oct. 12  - Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey w/ Hurry Up
Fri. Oct. 13 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir w/ Hurry Up
Sat. Oct. 14 - Eugene, OR @ Hi Fi Music Hall w/ Hurry Up
Sun. Oct. 15 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall w/ Lars Finberg
Tue. Oct. 17 - Phoenix, AZ @ Rebel Lounge w/ Lars Finberg
Thu. Oct. 19 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger w/ Flasher
Fri. Oct. 20 - Austin, TX @ Barracuda, TX w/ Flasher
Sat. Oct. 21 - Dallas, TX @ Dada w/ Flasher
Sun. Oct. 22 - Houston, TX @ Secret Group w/ Flasher
Tue. Oct. 24 - Atlanta, GA @ the Earl w/ Flasher
Wed. Oct. 25 - Charlotte, NC @ Neighborhood Theatre w/ Flasher
Thu. Oct. 26 - Washington, DC @ Rock n Roll Hotel w/ Flasher
Fri. Oct. 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle w/ Flasher
Sat. Oct. 28 - Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg w/ Flasher
Thu. Nov. 2 - Prague, CZ @ Futurum w/ METZ
Fri. Nov. 3 - Wroclaw, PL @ Klub Firlej w/ METZ
Sat. Nov. 4 - Warsaw, PL @ Klub Hydrozagadka w/ METZ
Mon. Nov. 6 - Berlin, DE @ Bi Nuu w/ METZ
Tue. Nov. 7 - Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen w/ METZ
Wed. Nov. 8 - Hamburg, DE @ Knust w/ METZ
Thu. Nov. 9 - Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Nov. 10 - Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who?
Sat. Nov. 11 - Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Sun. Nov. 12 - Brighton, UK @ The Haunt w/ Sauna Youth
Tue. Nov. 14 - London, UK @ Dome Tufnell Park w/ Sauna Youth
Wed. Nov. 15 - Manchester, UK @ Deaf Institute w/ Sauna Youth
Thu. Nov. 16 - Newcastle, UK @ The Cluny w/ Sauna Youth
Fri. Nov. 17 - Glasgow, UK @ CCA w/ Sauna Youth
Sat. Nov. 18 - Dublin, IE @ Whelan's w/ Sauna Youth
Sun. Nov. 19 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club w/ Sauna Youth
Tue. Nov. 21 - Brussels, BE @ Rotonde w/ Heimat
Wed. Nov. 22 - Tourcoing, FR @ Le Grand Mix w/ Heimat
Thu. Nov. 23 - Nantes, FR @ Pole Etudiant w/ Heimat
Fri. Nov. 24 - Angouleme, FR @ La Nef
Sat. Nov. 25 - Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie w/ Heimat

 

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.