Stella Donnelly Shares Video (Co-Directed by Julia Jacklin) for New Song “Tricks” | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, August 11th, 2022  

Stella Donnelly Shares Video (Co-Directed by Julia Jacklin) for New Song “Tricks”

Beware of the Dogs Due Out March 8 via Secretly Canadian

Feb 27, 2019 Julia Jacklin
Bookmark and Share


Australian singer/songwriter Stella Donnelly is releasing her debut full-length album, Beware of the Dogs, on March 8 via Secretly Canadian. Now she has shared another song from it, “Tricks,” via a video for the song. Fellow Australian musician Julia Jacklin co-directed the video with her frequent collaborator Nick Mckk. The video was shot in Melbourne and features Donnelly being followed around by an over exuberant dancing man. Watch is below, followed by Donnelly’s upcoming tour dates.

A press release says: “‘Tricks’ is a deceptively catchy jab at racist Australian pride and the absurdity of the music industry.”

Donnelly had this to say about the song in the press release: “This song is a playful zoom-in on the ‘Australian Identity’ and a loose dig at the morons that used to yell sh*t at me when I played cover gigs on Sunday afternoons. It probably served me right for singing ‘Wonderwall’ every weekend.”

Previously Donnelly shared a video for Beware the Dogs’ first single “Old Man,” which was an honorable mention on our Songs of the Week list, but in retrospect definitely should’ve made the main list. Then she has shared another song from the album, “Lunch,” also via a video for the song, and that song did make our Songs of the Week list. Donnelly also performed a Tiny Desk Concert for NPR Music.

Stella Donnelly Tour Dates:

Wed. March 6 - Surry Hills, AU @ Golden Age Cinema & Bar
Thu. March 7 - Surry Hills, AU @ Golden Age Cinema & Bar
Sat. March 9 - Brunswick West, AU @ Estonian House (Matinee U18)
Sat. March 9 - Brunswick West, AU @ Estonian House
Sun. March 10 - Tasmania, AU @ Panama Festival
Fri. March 15 - Washington, DC @ U Street Music Hall #
Sat. March 16 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s #
Mon. March 18 - Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade #
Wed. March 20 - Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom #
Fri. March 22 - Somerville, MA @ ONCE Ballroom #
Sat. March 23 - Montreal, QC @ Casa Del Popolo #
Sun. March 24 - Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel #
Mon. March 25 - Detroit, MI @ Deluxx Fluxx #
Wed. March 27 - Columbus, OH @ Ace of Cups #
Thu. March 28 - Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop #
Fri. March 29 - Chicago, IL @ Schuba’s #
Sat. March 30 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club #
Tue. April 2 - Seattle, WA @ Barboza #
Wed. April 3 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall #
Fri. April 5 - San Francisco, CA @ Cafe Du Nord #
Sat. April 6 - Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater #
Thu. April 11 - Berlin, DE @ Badehaus
Fri. April 12 - Hamburg, DE @ Skybar
Sat. April 13 - Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Mon. April 15 - Cologne, DE @ Yuca
Tue. April 16 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique
Wed. April 17 - Amiens, FR @ La Lune Des Pirates *
Thu. April 18 - Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up Du Label
Tue. April 23 - Cardiff, UK @ Clwb Ifor Bach
Wed. April 24 - Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Thu. April 25 - Southampton, UK @ Joiners
Sat. April 27 - Brighton, UK @ Haunt
Sun. April 28 - Manchester, UK @ Yes
Mon. April 29 - Dublin, IE @ Grand Social
Wed. May 1 - Glasgow, UK @ The Blue Arrow
Thu. May 2 - Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Community Room
Sat. May 4 - Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Sound City
Sun. May 5 - Nottingham, UK @ Bodega
Tue. May 7 - London, UK @ Scala
Thu. July 4 - Roskilde, DK @ Roskildge Festival
Fri. July 5 - Vilanova I La Geltrú, ES @ Vida Festival
Wed. July 17 - Lawrence, KS @ The Granada &
Thu. July 18 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway &
Fri. July 19 - Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom &
Tue. July 23 - Nashville, TN @ Exit/In &
Wed. July 24 - Louisville KY @ Headliners Music Hall &
Thu. July 25 - Columbus, OH @ Skully’s Music Diner
Sun. July 28 - Tachikawa, JP @ Fuji Rock Festival
Fri. Aug. 9 - Rees, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Sat. Aug. 10 - Bristol, UK @ Boomtown Festival
Sat. Aug. 17 - Crickhowell, UK @ Green Man Festival
Thu. Aug. 29 - Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival

# = with Faye Webster
* = supporting Yak
& = support Snail Mail

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

majece majece
February 27th 2019
8:35am

I think that information about https://vpn-lab.com/tunnelbear-review/ will be helpful for Internet users. Here you can read TunnelBear review

m rollex11
February 28th 2019
5:54pm

Number of numerous free Swedish internet dating that give you a lot of interesting celebrities.
The only person standing with your way basically. Do Take into consideration want adjust?

(E.g., Yes or no). http://rollex.world/index.php/download/28-rollex11

x tip online casino
February 28th 2019
11:56pm

I’ve some article marketing tips that will truly explode your blog traffic.
Usually have the motto “article writers cheap” or inexpensive Writers “high quality”.

Some superb strategies you can use are really simple. http://rightjob.com/__media__/js/netsoltrademark.php?d=Tea-Point.ru/bitrix/rk.php?goto=https://918kiss.bid/downloads/218-download-rollex11

lpe88 download android
May 22nd 2019
3:29pm

Considerably more a a lot of open junk out there, so
when you add value, you’ll easily be different.
3- Your internet site title: - No Do not mean the title you
have their upon website’s home page. https://918kiss.bid/games/lpe888