Sharon Jones Public Memorials Announced in Brooklyn, NY and Augusta, GA

December 14 in Brooklyn and December 17 in Augusta

Dec 07, 2016
Bookmark and Share

Modern soul legend Sharon Jones (of Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings) died last month at age 60, after a long battle with pancreatic cancer. Now two public memorials have been announced to take place in the two cities she called home. The first one is on December 14 at Brown Memorial Baptist Church at 6 PM in Brooklyn, NY and second one is on December 17 at Imperial Theater at 1 PM in Augusta, GA. The full details are below. Jones' family, friends, and fans are all welcome at each event, "to come together to celebrate the singer's life and endless spirit."

In lieu of flowers it's been requested that donations be made in Jones honor to any of the following organizations: The Lustgarten FoundationJames Brown Family Foundation, and Little Kids Rock.

Brooklyn, NY - December 14, 2016 at 6pm
Brown Memorial Baptist Church
484 Washington Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11238

Augusta, GA - December 17, 2016 at 1pm
Imperial Theater
749 Broad St
Augusta, GA 30901

We last interviewed Jones just this past summer and you can read that article here. And here is the tribute we wrote to Jones when she passed. Below is a selection of her videos.







Submit your comment