Watch Parquet Courts Perform “Wide Awake” on “Ellen”

Wide Awake! Due Out May 18 via Rough Trade

Apr 24, 2018
Bookmark and Share


Parquet Courts are releasing a new Danger Mouse-produced album, Wide Awake!, on May 18 via Rough Trade. Now the band has stopped by Ellen to perform its almost title track "Wide Awake" (unlike the album title, it doesn't feature an explanation point), which is a song Ellen DeGeneres "loves very much," so says the host when introducing the band. Watch the fun performance below.

Previously Parquet Courts shared the album's first single, "Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience" (which was one of our Songs of the Week), as well as a video for "Wide Awake" (which was our #1 Song of the Week).

Pick up or download Under the Radar's current print issue (Spring 2018) to read our interview with Parquet Courts on Wide Awake!

Wide Awake! is the band's fifth album and the follow-up to 2016's excellent Human Performance. Danger Mouse (aka Brian Burton) is a fan of Parquet Courts and approached the band about working with them.

"The ethos behind every Parquet Courts record is that there needs to be change for the better, and the best way to tackle that is to step out of one's comfort zone," said frontman A. Savage in a press release in regards to working with Danger Mouse. "I personally liked the fact that I was writing a record that indebted to punk and funk, and Brian's a pop producer who's made some very polished records. I liked that it didn't make sense."

Savage says he was purposefully reacting against the ballads of Human Performance when co-writing the songs on Wide Awake! with Brown. "I needed an outlet for the side of me that feels emotions like joy, rage, silliness and anger," he said in the press release, citing such influences as Youth of Today, Gorilla Biscuits, and Black Flag. "All those bands make me want to dance and that's what I want people to do when they hear our record." 

Brown had this to say in the press release: "In such a hateful era of culture, we stand in opposition to that - and to the nihilism used to cope with that - with ideas of passion and love."

Read our 2016 interview with Parquet Courts.

Parquet Courts Tour Dates: 

Tue. Apr. 24 - Houston, TX @ White Oak Music Hall 
Thu. Apr. 26 - Austin, TX @ Stubb's - Levitation w/ Ty Segall
Fri. Apr. 27 - Norman, OK @ Norman Music Festival
Sat. Apr. 28 - Dallas, TX @ Sons of Hermann Hall
Sun. Apr. 29 - Englewood, CO @ The Gothic Theatre
Sat. May 5 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival 
Wed. May 23 - Boston, MA @ Royale w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 24 - Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom w/ Goat Girl
Fri. May 25 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall w/ Goat Girl
Sat. May 26 - Montreal, QC @ Theatre Fairmount w/ Goat Girl
Sun. May 27 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Mon. May 28 - Detroit, MI @ El Club w/ Goat Girl
Wed. May 30 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Goat Girl
Thu. May 31 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 1 - Lawrence, KS @ The Granada w/ Goat Girl
Sat. June 2 - St Louis, MO @ Ready Room w/ Goat Girl
Sun. June 3 - Nashville, TN @ Basement East w/ Goat Girl
Tue. June 5 - Asheville, NC @ Orange Peel w/ Goat Girl
Wed. June 6 - Carborro, NC @ Cat's Cradle w/ Goat Girl
Thu. June 7 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 8 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer w/ Goat Girl
Fri. June 15 - Richmond, VA @ Friday Cheers at Brown's Island
Wed. July 4 - Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg
Thu. July 5 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow
Fri. July 6 - Groningen, NL @ Vera
Sun. July 8 - Hérouville saint Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard Festival
Thu. July 12 - Bilbao, ES @ Bilbao BBK Festival
Sat. July 14 - Beccles, UK @ Latitude Festival
Sun. July 15 - Kortrijk, BE @ De Kreun
Tue. July 17 - Duedingen, CH @ Bad Bonn
Sat. Aug. 4 - Sun. Aug. 5 - Missoula, MT @ Travelers' Rest Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment