The Smashing Pumpkins Announce New Album, Share New Song “Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)”

Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. Due Out November 16 via Martha’s Music

Sep 14, 2018 Photography by Linda Strawberry
Bookmark and Share

The Smashing Pumpkins have announced a new album, Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun., and shared a new song, "Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)." It's the band's first album since frontman Billy Corgan reunited three-fourths of the original lineup, bringing back into the fold guitarist James Iha and drummer Jimmy Chamberlin (bassist D'arcy Wretzsky is not taking part), as well as longtime guitarist (since 2007) Jeff Schroeder. Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. is due out November 16 via Martha's Music (under exclusive license to Napalm Records). Listen to "Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)" below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as the band's upcoming tour dates.

The album includes the recently shared a new song, "Solara," which the band performed on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon in June and for which there was also a strange video. Shiny and Oh So Bright is the first Smashing Pumpkins album in 18 years to feature the three original members and was recorded at Shangri La Studios in Malibu, CA with producer Rick Rubin. Corgan has been the only constant in the band over the years, but when they formed in 1988 the lineup included Iha, Chamberlin, and Wretzsky. That lineup stayed in place until Chamberlin left the band in 1996 and then Wretzsky departed in 1999, with Iha leaving in 2000.

Corgan issued this statement in a previous press release: "Some 30 years ago, as The Smashing Pumpkins, James Iha, and I began a musical journey in the cramped rear bedroom of my Father's house. And so it's magic to me that we're able to coalesce once more around the incredible Jimmy Chamberlin, to celebrate those songs we've made together."

Corgan released, Ogilala, a new solo album under his full name, William Patrick Corgan, last fall via BMG.

Shiny and Oh So Bright, Vol. 1 / LP: No Past. No Future. No Sun. Tracklist:

1. Knights of Malta
2. Silvery Sometimes (Ghosts)
3. Travels
4. Solara
5. Alienation
6. Marchin' On
7. With Sympathy
8. Seek And You Shall Destroy

The Smashing Pumpkins Tour Dates:

October 16, 2018 - London, UK - Wembley Arena
October 18, 2018- Bologna, IT - Unipol Arena
November 30, 2018 - Chicago, IL - Aragon Ballroom

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.


Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published


Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

are smart meters compulsory
September 14th 2018

Great stuff!