Watch: Elbow - “Magnificent (She Says)” Video

Little Fictions Due Out February 3, 2017 via Concord

Dec 15, 2016
Bookmark and Share


Elbow are releasing a new album (their seventh), Little Fictions, on February 3, 2017 via Concord. Now the previously shared beautiful first single, "Magnificent (She Says)," has an equally stirring video. Joe Connor directed the clip, which was filmed in Asia and centers on the experiences of a little girl and other children. It's really all quite lovely. Watch it below, followed by the band's U.K. tour dates.

Little Fictions is the Manchester, England band's first album without drummer and founding member Richard Jupp, who left the band earlier this year to focus on other creative projects, including his drum school. A press release says this forced the band to take "new approaches to rhythm," with the band "utilizing percussive noises, sampling, and loops to build tracks." The album is also described as upbeat and joyous. The album was written collaboratively by all four members, first in a house in Scotland and then in frontman Guy Garvey's attic, before being recorded in the Blueprint Studios in Salford, near Manchester. The album features the string players of The Hallé Orchestra, the Hallé Ancoats Community Choir, members of London Contemporary Voices, and session drummer Alex Reeves. 

Elbow's last album was 2014's The Take Off and Landing of Everything, although last year frontman Guy Garvey released his debut solo album, Courting the Squall

Read our 2014 print article on Elbow and our 2014 web-exclusive interview with Garvey on his favorite cities. Also read our 2016 The End interview with Garvey on endings and death.

Elbow U.K. Tour Dates:

Sun February 26 2017 - DUBLIN Olympia Theatre
Mon February 27 2017 - DUBLIN Olympia Theatre
Wed March 01 2017 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy
Thu March 02 2017 - BIRMINGHAM O2 Academy
Sat March 04 2017 - LONDON Eventim Apollo
Sun March 05 2017 - LONDON Eventim Apollo
Mon March 06 2017 - LONDON Eventim Apollo
Wed March 08 2017 - BOURNEMOUTH BIC
Thu March 09 2017 - PLYMOUTH Pavilions
Fri March 10 2017 - NEWPORT Centre
Sun March 12 2017 - EDINBURGH Usher Hall
Mon March 13 2017 - EDINBURGH Usher Hall
Tue March 14 2017 - BRIDLINGTON Spa
Wed March 15 2017 - DONCASTER Dome
Thu March 16 2017 - LEICESTER De Montfort Hall
Sat March 18 2017 - MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Sun March 19 2017 - MANCHESTER O2 Apollo
Mon March 20 2017 - MANCHESTER O2 Apollo



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.