Watch Kevin Morby Wander Paris in the "Downtown Lights" Video | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Wednesday, July 15th, 2020  

Watch Kevin Morby Wander Paris in the “Downtown Lights” Video

City Music Due Out June 16 via Dead Oceans

Aug 14, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Kevin Morby released an excellent album, Singing Saw, just last year via Dead Oceans, but he's already released a new one, City Music, back in June also via Dead Oceans. Now he has shared a video for "Downtown Lights." Hugo Jouxtel directed the black & white video, which was produced by La Blogothéque and finds Morby wandering Paris. Watch it below, followed by his upcoming tour dates.

Pick up Under the Radar's current print issue (Summer 2017/Issue 61) to read our new interview with Morby on City Music.

Morby had this to say about the video in a press release: "Paris has always shown a lot of love towards my music, and I am very grateful. On my first European solo tour I was selling maybe 50 tickets a city until I showed up in Paris and heard the show was already at 150 tickets, which at the time really blew my mind and took me by complete surprise. Before the show, a company called La Blogothéque asked me to do a 'Take Away Show,' which I agreed to do, though I didn't really know what it was. The film crew was so kind and took me on a magical adventure around the city filming me playing some songs in a park and in a boat going down the canal. Two years later, I was back in Paris and they asked me to film a show playing to a small crowd inside a house next to Père Lachaise Cemetery and that, too, was very magical. So when it came time to do a video for 'Downtowns Lights' I knew just who to ask. La Blogothéque has a way of capturing the meeting of artists and a city half way, letting them both do the work and play off of each other and the result is always fascinating." 

Previously he shared a lyric video for City Music's first single, "Come to Me Now," announced a world tour in support of City Music, shared another song from the album, "1234," and shared a video for the album's title track, "City Music." He also shared a new song not found on either album, "Bag of Rats," as part of the "Our First 100 Days" anti-Donald Trump project.

City Music is Morby's fourth album. A previous press release described it as "full of listless wanderlust, it's a collection inspired by and devoted to the metropolitan experience across America and beyond by a songwriter cast from his own mold."

In the previous press release Morby said the album "is a mixtape, a fever dream, a love letter dedicated to those cities that I cannot get rid of, to those cities that are all inside of me."

Morby added: "Here, Lou Reed and Patti Smith stare out at the listener. Stretched out on a living room floor they are somewhere in mid-'70s Manhattan, also smoking cigarettes."

Read our review of Singing Saw and check out our 2016 interview with Morby about Singing Saw.

Kevin Morby Tour Dates:

Mon. Aug. 21 - Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern
Tue. Aug 22 - Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater
Thu. Aug 24 - Salt Lake City, UT @ The State Room
Fri. Aug 25 - Fort Collins, CO @ Downtown Artey
Sat. Aug 26 - Denver, CO @ Globe Hall
Mon. Aug 28 - Omaha, NE @ Reverb Lounge
Tue. Aug 29 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club
Thu. Aug 31 - Spring Green, WI @ Shitty Barn
Fri. Sep 1 - Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall
Sat. Sep 2 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
Sun. Sep 3 - Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern
Mon. Sep 4 - Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PBD
Fri. Sep 8 - Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry
Thu. Sep 7 - Sun. Sep 10 - Raleigh, NC @ Hopscotch Music Festival
Wed. Sep 13 - St. Louis, MO @ Off Broadway
Thu. Sep 14 - Kansas City, MO @ Madrid Theater
Fri. Sep 15 - Dallas, TX @ Sundown at Granada
Sat. Sep 16 - Austin, TX @ The Mohawk
Mon. Sep 18 - Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Tue. Sep 19 - Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Thu. Sep 21 - Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Fri. Sep 22 - Santa Cruz, CA @ The Catalyst Atrium
Sun. Sep 23 - San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall
Sun. Oct. 29 - Nantes, FR @ Festival Soy
Tue. Oct. 31 - London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
Wed. Nov. 1- Leffinge, BE @ De Zwerver / Autumn Falls 
Fri. Nov. 3 - Brussels, BE @ Botanique/ Autumn Falls
Sun. Nov. 5 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Mon. Nov. 6 - Copenhagen, DK @ Vega
Tue. Nov. 7 - Stockholm, SE @ Debaser
Wed. Nov. 8 - Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Thu. Nov. 9 - Lund, SE @ Mejeriet
Sun. Nov. 12 - Köln, DE @ Luxor
Tue. 14 Nov. - Schorndorf, DE @ Manufaktur
Wed. Nov. 15 - Munich, DE @ Ampere
Fri. Nov. 17 - Ravenna, IT @ Bronson
Sat. Nov. 18 - Rome, IT @ Monk
Sun. Nov. 19 - Milan, IT @ Serraglio
Mon. Nov 20 - St. Gallen, CH @ Palace
Tue. Nov. 21 - Strasbourg, FR @ La Laiterie
Wed. Nov. 22 - Rouen, FR @ Le 106
Fri. Nov 24 -Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Nov 25 - Manchester, UK @ Gorilla

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.