Watch Mac DeMarco Perform “Finally Alone” and Four Other Songs on “Jimmy Kimmel” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, December 12th, 2019  

Watch Mac DeMarco Perform “Finally Alone” and Four Other Songs on “Jimmy Kimmel”

Here Comes the Cowboy Out Now via Mac’s Record Label

Jul 30, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Mac DeMarco released a new album, Here Comes the Cowboy, in May on Mac's Record Label (you can stream it here). Last night on Jimmy Kimmel Live! DeMarco performed "Finally Alone" on the broadcast show. He also performed a concert of four other songs that were streamed online: "Nobody," "K," "Little Dogs March," and "Cattleman's Prayer." Watch it all below.

Previously DeMarco shared a video for the album's first single, "Nobody." Then he shared the audio for its second single, "All of Our Yesterdays." Then he shared another song from the album, "On the Square," via a bizarre and unsetting video for the song that has a bit of a David Lynch vibe. Then he shared a truly strange animated video for the album's opening track (and title track), "Here Comes the Cowboy."

He also stopped by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon to perform "All of Our Yesterdays." A week later The Tonight Show shared a video of DeMarco covering Feist's "One Evening" (from her 2004 album Let It Die) backstage with his band.

DeMarco wrote, tracked, and mixed Here Comes the Cowboy at his Jizz Jazz Studios in Los Angeles "during the first two weeks of an exceptionally rainy January, 2019." DeMarco played almost every instrument on the album, except from some keyboards here and there by touring member Alec Meen. Joe Santarpia shares engineering and mixing duties with DeMarco.
 
The album cover features "a rusty old grinning pin" that "was purchased from a man in the mountains somewhere in the Nantahala National Forest between Chattanooga, TN and Asheville, NC."

DeMarco had this to say about the album in a previous press release: "This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren't the people I'm referring to."

DeMarco's last album, This Old Dog, came out in 2017. Read our review of This Old Dog.

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:

Sun. Aug. 4 - Montreal, QC @ Osheaga
Tue. Aug. 6 - Brooklyn, NY @ Prospect Park Bandshell
Fri. Sept. 13 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Greek Theatre
Fri. Sept. 20 - Washington, DC @ The Anthem
Sat. Sept. 21 - Philadelphia, PA @ Franklin Music Hall (Outdoors)
Sun. Sept. 22 - Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre Boston - SOLD OUT
Tue. Sept. 24 - Toronto, ON @ Woodbine Park
Thu. Sept. 26 - Cleveland, OH @ Agora Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 - Detroit, MI @ Masonic Temple Theatre
Sat. Sept. 28 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre - SOLD OUT
Sun. Sept. 29 - Chicago, IL @ Riviera Theatre
Tue. Oct. 1 - Milwaukee, WI @ Riverside Theater
Wed. Oct. 2 - St. Paul, MN @ Palace Theatre
Thu. Oct. 3 - East Moline, IL @ The Rust Belt
Fri. Oct. 4 - Omaha, NE @ Sokol Auditorium
Sun. Oct. 6 - Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
Wed. Nov. 6 - Sat. Nov. 9 - Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sat. Nov. 9 - Copenhagen, DK @ VEGA
Sun. Nov. 10 - Hamburg, DE @ Grosse Freiheit 36
Mon. Nov. 11 - Berlin, DE @ Columbiahalle
Wed. Nov. 13 - Brussels, BE @ AB Main Hall
Fri. Nov. 15 - Paris, FR @ Zenith
Sat. Nov. 16 - Rennes, FR @ Liberté
Sun. Nov. 17 - Lille, FR @ Aeronef
Tue. Nov. 19 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Wed. Nov. 20 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sat. Nov. 23 - Manchester, UK @ O2 Apollo
Sun. Nov. 24 - Glasgow, UK @ O2 Academy
Mon. Nov. 25 - Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street - SOLD OUT
Tue. Nov. 26 - Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Wed. Nov. 27 - Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy
Thu. Nov. 28 - Liverpool, UK @ Bramley-Moore Dock Warehouse
Wed. Jan. 8 - Auckland, NZ @ Town Hall
Fri. Jan. 10 - Sydney, AU @ Hordern Pavilion
Sat. Jan. 11 - Melbourne, AU @ Festival Hall
Wed. Jan. 15 - Brisbane, AU @ Fortitude Music Hall
Sat. Jan. 18 - Perth, AU @ Red Hill Auditorium

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.