Watch: Perfume Genius - “Die 4 You” Video

No Shape Out Now via Matador

May 09, 2017
Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Perfume Genius (aka Mike Hadreas) released a new album, No Shape, last Friday via Matador. Previously he shared a video for its first single, "Slip Away," and the audio for "Go Ahead." Now he has shared an atmospheric and stylish video for "Die 4 You." Floria Sigismondi directed the beautiful clip, which features Hadreas strike various poses with a chair and interact with artwork by Rosa Verloop. Watch the video below, followed by Perfume Genius' upcoming tour dates.

No Shape is the follow-up to 2014's acclaimed Too Bright. Blake Mills produced the album, which was recorded in Los Angeles and mixed by Shawn Everett. Weyes Blood guests on one song, "Sides."

Hadreas had this to say about the album in a previous press release: "I pay my rent. I'm approaching health. The things that are bothering me personally now are less clear, more confusing. I don't think I really figured them out with these songs. There's something freeing about how I don't have it figured out. Unpacking little morsels, magnifying my discomfort, wading through buried harm, laughing at or digging in to the embarrassing drama of it all. I may never come out the other side but it's invigorating to try and hopefully, ultimately helpful. I think a lot of them are about trying to be happy in the face of whatever bullshit I created for myself or how horrible everything and everyone is."

Pick up or download Under the Radar's current print issue, the Spring 2017 issue, to read our new interview with Perfume Genius on No Shape.

Perfume Genius Tour Dates:

Wed, May 10 - Magic Stick Lounge - Detroit, MI
Thu, May 11 - Virgin Mobile Mod Club - Toronto
Fri, May 12 - Theatre Fairmount - Montreal, QC
Sat, May 13 - Royale - Boston, MA
Mon, May 15 - 9:30 Club - Washington, DC
Tue, May 16 - Brooklyn Steel - Brooklyn, NY
Thu, May 18 - Union Transfer - Philadelphia, PA
Fri, May 19 - Cat's Cradle - Carrboro, NC
Sat, May 20 - Terminal West - Atlanta, GA
Sun, May 21 - Exit/In - Nashville, TN
Tue, May 23 - Back Room at Colectivo - Milwaukee
Wed, May 24 - Cedar Cultural Center - Minneapolis
Thu, May 25 - Lincoln Hall - Chicago, IL
Fri, June 16 - Eaux Claires Festival - Eau Claire, WI
Sat, June 17 - Eaux Claires Festival - Eau Claire, WI
Sat, July 15 - Imperial - Vancouver, BC
Sun, Jul 16 - Revolution Hall - Portland, OR
Tue, Jul 18 - The Independent - San Francisco CA
Wed, Jul 19 - The Independent - San Francisco CA
Sun, Jul 23 - Capitol Hill Block Party - Seattle WA

*support on all May dates will be serpentwithfeet

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.