CHVRCHES’ Lauren Mayberry Continues to Confront Online Misogyny With Instagram Post

“Bring It On, Motherfuckers”

Apr 24, 2015
Bookmark and Share

Whether intended or not, CHVRCHES frontwoman Lauren Mayberry has become a much-needed defender of late for female musicians who constantly find themselves barraged by online trolls and the endless stream of misogynist comments they leave online. Having already published a passionate critique on the matter in The Guardian in 2013, Mayberry hit back again against such harassment yesterday by posting on Instagram an incredibly vulgar comment someone left on one of the band's social media platforms:

A photo posted by Lauren Mayberry (@laurenevemayberry) on Apr 22, 2015 at 4:59pm PDT

Responding with more class then most in the same situation would have, Mayberry wrote, "My band is lucky enough to have some of the most awesome, supportive and respectful fans in the world and we are so excited to be in the studio making an album to share with them. Yet, on a daily basis, we still receive communications like this. These people never learn that violence against women is unacceptable. But they also never learn that women will not be shamed and silenced and made to disappear. I am not going anywhere. So bring it on, motherfuckers. Let’s see who blinks first."

CHVRCHES are currently in the midst of recording the follow-up to their highly successful debut The Bones of What You Believe, regularly updating their progress with their fans online.



Submit your comment