Watch Unknown Mortal Orchestra Cover Grateful Dead's “Shakedown Street” on “Conan” | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Sunday, April 18th, 2021  

Watch Unknown Mortal Orchestra Cover Grateful Dead’s “Shakedown Street” on “Conan”

Day of the Dead Out Now on 4AD

Jun 08, 2016 Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Bookmark and Share


Unknown Mortal Orchestra covered Grateful Dead’s “Shakedown Street” on the recent Day of the Dead compilation, the new Grateful Dead covers box set that features 59 tracks and six hours of music (it’s out now on 4AD). The compilation was spearheaded by The National’s Aaron and Bryce Dessner, with profits going to the HIV/AIDS charity Red Hot. Last night the New Zealand band stopped by Conan to perform the cover. Watch below (you can also listen to the studio version of the cover below).

The band’s last album was 2015’s excellent Multi-Love (out now via Jagjaguwar). The band also recently shared the new song “First World Problem.”

Read our 2015 interview with Unknown Mortal Orchestra about Multi-Love and read our review of the album.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra Tour Dates:

Sat. June 18 - Aarhus, Denmark @ Northside Festival
Sun. June 19 - Hilvarenbeek, Netherlands @ Best Kept Secret
Mon. June 20 - Paris, France @ Trabendo w/ Alex Cameron
Tues. June 21 - Cambridge, United Kingdom @ Junction w/ Alex Cameron
Wed. June 22 - Liverpool, United Kingdom @ East Village Arts Club w/ Alex Cameron
June 22-26 - Somerset, United Kingdom @ Glastonbury Festival
Sat. June 25 - Madrid, Spain @ Madrid Music City at Matadero Madrid
Sun. June 26 - Padua, Italy @ Parco Della Musica
Tues. June 28 - Istanbul, Turkey @ KüçükÇiftlik Park (supporting CHIC)
Wed. June 29 - Zurich, Switzerland @ Mascotte
July 1 - Vilanova l La Geltru, Spain @ Vida Festival
Sat. July 2 - Marmande, France @ Garorock Festival
July 3 - Werchter, Belgium @ Rock Werchter
Fri. July 15 - Quebec City, QC @ Festival D’Été De Québec
Sun. July 17 - Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Mon. July 18 - Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird Nightclub
Tue. July 19 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom
Wed. July 20 - Pontiac, MI @ Crofoot Ballroom
Fri. July 22 - Oro-Medonte, Canada @ WayHome Music & Arts Festival
Sat. July 23 - Ottawa, ON @ Ritual Nightclub
Sun. July 24 - Burlington, VT @ Signal Kitchen
Mon. July 25 - Portland, ME @ Port City Music Hall
Thu. July 28 - Providence, RI @ Fete Ballroom
Sat. July 30th - New York, NY @ Central Park Summerstage
Fri. Aug. 12 - Sat. Aug. 13 - Eau Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Wed. Aug. 17 - Paredes De Coura, Portugal @ Paredes de Coura
August 18-21 - Wales, United Kingdom @ Green Man Festival
August 19-21 - Hamburg, Germany @ Dockville
Sun. Aug. 28 - Portland, OR @ MusicFest NW (Project Pabst)
Tue. Aug. 30 - Petaluma, CA @ Lagunitas Brewing Company
Thu. Sept. 1 - Santa Monica, CA @ Santa Monica Pier
Fri. Sept. 2 - Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theatre - UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala
Sat. Sept 3 - Berkeley, CA @ The Greek Theatre - UC Berkeley w/ Tame Impala



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.