Whitney Announce 12-Inch, Share Covers of Songs by Dolly Parton and Lion | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Wednesday, September 23rd, 2020  

Whitney Announce 12-Inch, Share Covers of Songs by Dolly Parton and Lion

They Cover Dolly Parton's "Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)" and Lion's "You Got a Woman"

Mar 27, 2017 Bookmark and Share


Find It At: AMAZON

Whitney features former Smith Westerns members Julien Ehrlich and Max Kakacek and they released their excellent debut album, Light Upon the Lake, last June via Secretly Canadian. Now they have announced a new 12-inch that features two covers: Dolly Parton's "Gonna Hurry (As Slow As I Can)" and Lion's "You Got a Woman." Lion was a 1970s Dutch psych rock band. Listen to both covers below. The band has announced some tour dates, which are also below. The 12-inch is out now digitally and comes out on vinyl on June 2 via Secretly Canadian.

Read our 2016 interview with Whitney about Light Upon the Lake. Plus read our review of Light Upon the Lake.

 

Whitney Tour Dates:

Sat. April 1 - Iowa City IA @ The Mill (SOLD OUT)
Sun. April 2  - Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club (SOLD OUT)
Mon. April 3 - Fargo, ND @ Aquarium
Tue. April 4 - Winnipeg, MB @ WECC (SOLD OUT)
Thu. April 6 - Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos
Fri. April 7 - Edmonton, AB @ Needle
Sat. April 8 - Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth
Mon. April 10 - Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret (SOLD OUT)
Tue. April 11 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos (SOLD OUT)
Wed. April 12 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall (SOLD OUT)
Thu. April 13 - Eugene, OR @ WOW Hall 
Thu. April 14 - Sonoma, CA @ Gundlach Bundschu Winery
Sun. April 16 - Indio, CA @ Coachella
Mon. April 17 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent (SOLD OUT)
Tue. April 18 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent (SOLD OUT)
Wed. April 19 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent (SOLD OUT)
Thu. April 20 - Los Angeles, CA @ El Rey Theatre
Sat. April 22 - Pomona, CA @ The Glass House
Sun. April 23 - Indio, CA @ Coachella
Tue. April 25 - Santa Fe, NM @ Meow Wolf
Thu. April 27 - Houston, TX @ Secret Group
Fri. April 28 - New Orleans, LA @ Tulane University
Sat. April 29 - Baton Rouge, LA @ Spanish Moon
Sat. April 29 - Sun. April 30 - Ft. Worth, TX @ Fortress Fest
Mon. May 1 - Lawrence, KS @ Bottleneck
Sun. May 6 - Grinnell, IA @ Grinnell College
Sun. May 7 - Bloomington, IL @ The Castle Theater
Mon. May 8 - Bloomington, IN @ The Bluebird
Tue. May 9 - St Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Wed. May 10 - Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry's
Fri. May 12 - Sun. May 14 - Atlanta, GA @ Shaky Knees Festival
Tue. May 16 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat's Cradle Main
Sat. May 20 - Washington, DC @ 930
Mon. May 22 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Wed. May. 24 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. May 26 - Sun. May 28 - Boston, MA @ Boston Calling
Sat. May 27 - Woodstock, NY @ Levon Helm Studios - Midnight Ramble
Fri. June 2 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sat. June 3 - London, UK @ Field Day
Sun. June 4 - Manchester, UK @ The Ritz
Mon. June 5 - Milan, IT @ Magnolia
Tue. June 6 - Turin, IT @ Astoria
Wed. June 7 - Rome, IT @ Monk
Thu. June 8 - Bologna, IT @ Biografilm
Fri. June 9 - Porto, PT @ Optimus Primavera Sound Porto
Sun. June 11 - Nimes, FR @ This Is Not A Love Song Festival
Wed. June 14 - Bergen, NO @ Bergenfest
Thu. June 15 - Aarhus, DK @ Voxhall
Sat. June 17 - Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Sun. June 18 - Mannheim, DE @ Maifeld Derby
Thu. June 22 - Oslo, NO @ Piknik I Parken
Tue. June 27 - Brighton, UK @ Concorde 2
Wed. June 28 - Paris, FR @ Café De La Dance
Thu. June 29 - Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Fri. July 14 - Sun. July 16 - Louisville, KY @ Forecastle Festival
Fri. July 21 - Sat. July 23 - Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Festival
Fri. July 21 - Tue. July 25 - Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party
Sat. July 28 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall
Thu. Aug. 3 - Sun. Aug. 6 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza Music Festival
Fri. Aug 4 - Sun. Aug. 6 - Montreal, QC @ Osheaga Music And Arts Festival

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.