Whitney Announce 2020 Tour Dates and Share Cover of Wilco's "Far, Far Away" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Tuesday, December 10th, 2019  

Whitney Announce 2020 Tour Dates and Share Cover of Wilco’s “Far, Far Away”

Whitney Announce 2020 Tour Dates and Share Cover of Wilco's "Far, Far Away" Forever Turned Around Out Now via Secretly Canadian

Nov 22, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Whitney (Julien Ehrlich and Max Kakacek) released a new album, Forever Turned Around, back in August via Secretly Canadian. Now they have announced some new 2020 tour dates and have shared a new cover of Wilco's "Far, Far Away" (from their album Being There) that is the B-side to a new 7-inch single for "FTA," a shorter version of Forever Turned Around's closing track. CHAI will be the support act for the tour dates. Check out the "Far, Far Away" cover and tour dates below.

Pick up our current print issue (our My Favorite Album Issue) to read our interview with Whitney about their artist behind their all-time favorite albums.

You can read our review of Forever Turned Around here.

Previously Whitney shared Forever Turned Around's first single, "Giving Up" (which was one of our Songs of the Week). Then they shared the album's second single, "Valleys (My Love)," via a video for the track (it was also one of our Songs of the Week, at #1 in fact). Then they shared another song from it, "Used to Be Lonely," via a video for the track (which was once again also one of our Songs of the Week).

Forever Turned Around is Whitney's second album, the follow-up to 2016's debut album, Light Upon the Lake. In May they announced some new fall U.S. tour dates on top of their previously announced dates and in June they shared a teaser video entitled "FTA," which we now know stands for Forever Turned Around (the phrase "forever turned around" was repeated towards the end of the video).

Brad Cook (Bon Iver, Hand Habits) and Jonathan Rado (Foxygen, Weyes Blood, Father John Misty) co-produced the album, which was recorded in various sessions and includes material written on tour. At one point they reunited with original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar in his basement studio in Chicago, which is where much of Light Upon the Lake came together. Chicago musicians Lia Kohland and OHMME's Macie Stewart contribute strings to the album.
 
Whitney's live band also features keyboardist Malcolm Brow, guitarist Print Chouteau, bassist Josiah Marshall, and trumpeter Will Miller, with Asrar also returning to the live band. 

A previous press release described Forever Turned Around this way: "On the follow up to their much-beloved debut, 2016's Light Upon the Lake, Ehrlich and Kakacek grapple with the anxiety and acceptance that time is limited and navigate questions of mortality, doubt, love, and friendship. It's an album about partnership - romantic, familial, and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it."

Read our 2016 interview with Whitney about Light Upon the Lake. Plus read our review of Light Upon the Lake.

Whitney Tour Dates:

Sat. Nov. 23 - Bristol, UK @ SWX
Mon. Nov. 25 - Cambridge, UK @ The Junction
Tue. Nov. 26 - Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Wed. Nov. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ QMU
Thu. Nov. 28 - Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Fri. Nov. 29 - London, UK @ Roundhouse - SOLD OUT
Sun. Dec. 1 - Dublin, IE @ The Academy
Wed. Dec. 4 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Thu. Dec. 5 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Fri. Dec. 6 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Sun. Dec. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Fri. Jan. 24 - Madison, WI @ The Sylvee *
Wed. Jan. 29 - Indianapolis, IN @ The Vogue *
Thu. Jan. 30 - Louisville, KY @ Headliners Music Hall *
Fri. Jan. 31 - Nashville, TN @ Cannery *
Sat. Feb. 1 - Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry's *
Mon. Feb. 3 - Pensacola, FL @ Vinyl Music Hall *
Tue. Feb. 4 - Tallahassee, FL @ The Moon *
Wed. Feb. 5 - Miami, FL @ The Ground *
Thu. Feb. 6 - Tampa, FL @ Orpheum *
Fri. Feb. 7 - Charleston, SC @ Music Farm *
Sat. Feb. 8 - Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom *
Mon. Feb. 10 - Columbus, OH @ Newport Music Hall *
Tue. Feb. 11 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Ballroom *
Wed. Feb. 12 - Syracuse, NY @ Westcott Theatre *
Thu. Feb. 13 - Montreal, QC @ Théatre Corona *
Fri. Feb. 14 - Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre *
Sat. Feb. 15 - Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre *
Sun. Feb. 16 - Grand Rapids, MI @ Fountain Street Church *
Sat. May 3 - London, UK @ All Points East
Thu. July 2 - Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival 

*= w/ CHAI

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.