Whitney Announce New Album, Share New Song “Giving Up” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, November 14th, 2019  

Whitney Announce New Album, Share New Song “Giving Up”

Forever Turned Around Due Out August 30 via Secretly Canadian

Jun 06, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Whitney (Julien Ehrlich and Max Kakacek) have announced a new album, Forever Turned Around, and shared a new song from it, "Giving Up." Forever Turned Around is due out August 30 via Secretly Canadian. Check out "Giving Up" below, followed by the album's tracklist and cover art, as well as the band's upcoming tour dates.

Forever Turned Around is Whitney's second album, the follow-up to 2016's debut album, Light Upon the Lake. Last month they announced some new fall U.S. tour dates on top of their previously announced dates and earlier this week they shared a teaser video entitled "FTA," which we now know stands for Forever Turned Around (the phrase "forever turned around" was repeated towards the end of the video).

Brad Cook (Bon Iver, Hand Habits) and Jonathan Rado (Foxygen, Weyes Blood, Father John Misty) co-produced the album, which was recorded in various sessions and includes material written on tour. At one point they reunited with original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar in his basement studio in Chicago, which is where much of Light Upon the Lake came together. Chicago musicians Lia Kohland and OHMME's Macie Stewart contribute strings to the album.
 
Whitney's live band also features keyboardist Malcolm Brow, guitarist Print Chouteau, bassist Josiah Marshall, and trumpeter Will Miller, with Asrar also returning to the live band. 

A press release describes Forever Turned Around this way: "On the follow up to their much-beloved debut, 2016's Light Upon the Lake, Ehrlich and Kakacek grapple with the anxiety and acceptance that time is limited and navigate questions of mortality, doubt, love, and friendship. It's an album about partnership - romantic, familial, and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it."

 "Giving Up" is described in the press release as "a heart-rending and relatable song about the ups and downs of long-term relationships."

Read our 2016 interview with Whitney about Light Upon the Lake. Plus read our review of Light Upon the Lake.

Forever Turned Around Tracklist:

1. Giving Up
2. Used To Be Lonely
3. Before I Know It
4. Song For Ty
5. Valleys (My Love)
6. Rhododendron
7. My Life Alone
8. Day & Night
9. Friend of Mine
10. Forever Turned Around

Whitney Tour Dates:

Fri. July 19-Sun. July 21 - Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival
Thu. Aug. 1 - Luhmühlen, DE @ A Summer's Tale
Mon. Aug. 5 - Stockholm, SE @ Debaser Strand
Tue. Aug. 6 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. Aug. 7 - Aarhus, DK @ VoxHall
Fri. Aug. 9 - Rees-Haldern, DE @ Haldern Pop Festival
Sat. Aug. 11 - Castelbuono, IT @ Ypsigrock Festival
Tue. Aug. 13 - Bergen, NO @ Landmark
Thu. Aug. 15 - Trondheim, NO @ Pstereo
Fri. Aug. 16 - Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man
Sat. Aug. 17 - Mechelen, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sun. Aug. 18 - Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Mon. Sept. 9 - Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
Tue. Sept. 10 - St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Wed. Sept. 11 - Kansas City, MO @ The Truman
Thu. Sept. 12 - Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Fri. Sept. 13 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk - SOLD OUT
Sat. Sept. 14 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sun. Sept. 15 - Houston, TX @ Satellite
Tue. Sept. 17 - New Orleans, LA @ Tipitina's
Wed. Sept. 18 - Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Fri. Sept. 20 - Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sat. Sept. 21 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat's Cradle
Sun. Sept. 22 - Richmond, VA @ The National
Mon. Sept. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Sept. 26 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Sept. 28 - Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Sun. Sept. 29 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Tue. Oct. 1 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Wed. Oct. 2 - Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. Oct. 3 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Oct. 4 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel - SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 17 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Fri. Oct. 18 - Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Sat. Oct. 19 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Mon. Oct. 21 - Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Wed. Oct. 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro
Thu. Oct. 24 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Fri. Oct. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre
Sun. Oct. 27 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Wed. Oct. 30 - Chico, CA @ The Big Room at Sierra Nevada Brewery
Fri. Nov. 1 - San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre
Sun. Nov. 2 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Sun. Nov. 3 - San Diego, CA @ Observatory San Diego
Mon. Nov. 4 - Santa Ana, CA @ Yost Theater
Fri. Nov. 8 - Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sun. Nov. 10 - Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Tue. Nov. 12 - Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Nov. 14 - Munich, DE @ Strom
Fri. Nov. 15 - Berlin, DE @ Lido
Sun. Nov. 17 - Copehagen, DK @ Store Vega
Mon. Nov. 18 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Nov. 21 - Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Sat. Nov. 23 - Bristol, UK @ SWX
Mon. Nov. 25 - Cambridge, UK @ The Junction
Tue. Nov. 26 - Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Wed. Nov. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ QMU
Thu. Nov. 28 - Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Fri. Nov. 29 - London, UK @ Roundhouse
Sun. Dec. 1 - Dublin, IE @ The Academy

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.