Whitney Announces Debut Album, Shares Video for "Golden Days" | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Saturday, March 6th, 2021  

Whitney Announces Debut Album, Shares Video for “Golden Days”

Light Upon The Lake Out June 3rd On Secretly Canadian

Mar 23, 2016
Bookmark and Share


Today Chicago band Whitney has announced that their debut album, Light Upon the Lake, will be released June 3rd on Secretly Canadian. They also have shared the video for single "Golden Days." According to the band's press release, the album is the result of a short and intense creative period for the band. The band consists of two well traveled musicians: guitarist Max Kakacek (ex-Smith Westerns) and singer/drummer Julien Ehrlich (ex-Unknown Mortal Orchestra). The band recorded the album in California with Foxygen frontman and longtime friend Jonathan Rado. They slept in tents in his backyard located in the San Fernando Valley. They wrote truthfully about the "break-ups they were enduring and the breakdowns they were trying to avoid." The music had so much personality that they named the band Whitney.

Says Kakacek: "We were both writing as this one character, and whenever we were stuck, we'd ask, 'What would Whitney do in this situation?' We personified the band name into this person, and that helped a lot. We wrote the record as though one person were playing everything. We purposefully didn't add a lot of parts and didn't bother making everything perfect, because the character we had in mind wouldn't do that."

You can watch the video for "Golden Days" below. Whitney will be touring with Wild Nothing and Unknown Mortal Orchestra and dates can also be found below.

WHITNEY TOUR DATES:

Sat. Apr. 9 - Bloomington, IN @ Culture Shock - Dunn Meadow - University of Indiana

Tue. Apr. 19 - Los Angeles, CA @ Union

Wed. Apr. 20 - San Diego, CA @ The Casbah w/ Wild Nothing

Thu. Apr. 21 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room w/ Wild Nothing

Fri. Apr. 22 - San Francisco, CA @ The Independent w/ Wild Nothing

Mon. Apr. 25 - Seattle, WA @ The Crocodile w/ Wild Nothing

Tue. Apr. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret w/ Wild Nothing

Wed. Apr. 27 - Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge w/ Wild Nothing

Thu. Apr. 28 - Boise, ID @ Neurolux w/ Wild Nothing

Fri. Apr. 29 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Loading Dock w/ Wild Nothing

Mon. May 2 - Minneapolis, MN @ Triple Rock Social Club w/ Wild Nothing

Tue. May 3 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall w/ Wild Nothing

Sat. May 7 - Fort Collins, CO @ Aggie Theatre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Sun. May 8 - Lincoln, NE @ Vega w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Mon. May 9 - Des Moines, IA @ Wooly's w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Tue. May 10 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Thu. May 12 - Lawrence, KS @ The Bottleneck w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Fri. May 13 - Memphis, TN @ 1884 Lounge - Minglewood Hall w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Sat. May 14 - Oxford, MS @ Proud Larry's

Tue. May 17 - Columbus, OH @ Skully's Music Diner w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Wed. May 18 - Grand Rapids, MI @ The Pyramid Scheme w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Thu. May 19 - Madison, WI @ Majestic Theatre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Fri. May 20 - Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium (Dempsey's Upstairs) w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Sat. May 21 - Winnipeg, MB @ West End Culture Centre w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Mon. May 23 - Saskatoon, SK @ Amigos Cantina w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Tue. May 24 - Edmonton, AB @ The Starlite Room w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Wed. May 25 - Calgary, AB @ Commonwealth Bar w/ Unknown Mortal Orchestra

Mon. May 30 - Detroit, MI @ El Club

Tue. May 31 - Cleveland, OH @ Mahalls

Wed. June 1 - Albany, NY @ The Hollow

Fri. June 3 - Brooklyn, NY @ Baby's All Right

Fri. July 15 - Chicago, IL @ Pitchfork Music Festival

Pre-order Light Upon The Lake:
SCD - http://smarturl.it/whitneytheband
iTunes - http://smarturl.it/whitney_it
Amazon - http://smarturl.it/whitney_amz
Record stores - http://smarturl.it/whitney_ind

 



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.