Whitney Share Video for New Song “Used to Be Lonely” | Under the Radar - Music Magazine
Thursday, December 12th, 2019  

Whitney Share Video for New Song “Used to Be Lonely”

Forever Turned Around Due Out August 30 via Secretly Canadian

Aug 13, 2019
Bookmark and Share


Whitney (Julien Ehrlich and Max Kakacek) are releasing a new album, Forever Turned Around, on August 30 via Secretly Canadian. Now they have shared another song from it, "Used to Be Lonely," via a video for the track. Austin Vesely directed the video, which was filmed in Chicago, stars model Janet Yuan, and seems to be shot from the perspective of someone going out on a date with her to a fair. Watch it below, followed by the band's upcoming tour dates.

Previously Whitney shared Forever Turned Around's first single, "Giving Up" (which was one of our Songs of the Week). Then they shared the album's second single, "Valleys (My Love)," via a video for the track (it was also one of our Songs of the Week, at #1 in fact).

Forever Turned Around is Whitney's second album, the follow-up to 2016's debut album, Light Upon the Lake. In May they announced some new fall U.S. tour dates on top of their previously announced dates and in June they shared a teaser video entitled "FTA," which we now know stands for Forever Turned Around (the phrase "forever turned around" was repeated towards the end of the video).

Brad Cook (Bon Iver, Hand Habits) and Jonathan Rado (Foxygen, Weyes Blood, Father John Misty) co-produced the album, which was recorded in various sessions and includes material written on tour. At one point they reunited with original rhythm guitarist Ziyad Asrar in his basement studio in Chicago, which is where much of Light Upon the Lake came together. Chicago musicians Lia Kohland and OHMME's Macie Stewart contribute strings to the album.
 
Whitney's live band also features keyboardist Malcolm Brow, guitarist Print Chouteau, bassist Josiah Marshall, and trumpeter Will Miller, with Asrar also returning to the live band. 

A previous press release described Forever Turned Around this way: "On the follow up to their much-beloved debut, 2016's Light Upon the Lake, Ehrlich and Kakacek grapple with the anxiety and acceptance that time is limited and navigate questions of mortality, doubt, love, and friendship. It's an album about partnership - romantic, familial, and communal, but most importantly a love in friendship: the bonds between two best friends and creative partners and the joy and stress that comes with it."

Read our 2016 interview with Whitney about Light Upon the Lake. Plus read our review of Light Upon the Lake.

Whitney Tour Dates:

Tue. Aug. 13 - Bergen, NO @ Landmark
Thu. Aug. 15 - Trondheim, NO @ Pstereo
Fri. Aug. 16 - Brecon Beacons, UK @ Green Man
Sat. Aug. 17 - Mechelen, BE @ Pukkelpop
Sun. Aug. 18 - Biddinghuizen, NL @ Lowlands Festival
Mon. Sept. 9 - Bloomington, IN @ Bluebird
Tue. Sept. 10 - St. Louis, MO @ Delmar Hall
Wed. Sept. 11 - Kansas City, MO @ The Truman
Thu. Sept. 12 - Dallas, TX @ Canton Hall
Fri. Sept. 13 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk - SOLD OUT
Sat. Sept. 14 - Austin, TX @ Mohawk
Sun. Sept. 15 - Houston, TX @ Satellite
Tue. Sept. 17 - New Orleans, LA @ Tipitina's
Wed. Sept. 18 - Birmingham, AL @ Saturn
Fri. Sept. 20 - Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Sat. Sept. 21 - Chapel Hill, NC @ Cat's Cradle
Sun. Sept. 22 - Richmond, VA @ The National
Mon. Sept. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Thu. Sept. 26 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Smalls Theatre
Fri. Sept. 27 - Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sat. Sept. 28 - Accord, NY @ Woodsist Festival
Sun. Sept. 29 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Tue. Oct. 1 - Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Wed. Oct. 2 - Boston, MA @ Royale
Thu. Oct. 3 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel
Fri. Oct. 4 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Steel - SOLD OUT
Thu. Oct. 17 - Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Fri. Oct. 18 - Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall
Sat. Oct. 19 - Omaha, NE @ Slowdown
Mon. Oct. 21 - Denver, CO @ Ogden Theatre
Wed. Oct. 23 - Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro
Thu. Oct. 24 - Boise, ID @ Knitting Factory
Fri. Oct. 25 - Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 - Vancouver, BC @ Hollywood Theatre
Sun. Oct. 27 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall
Sun.  Oct 28 - Portland, OR @ Revolution Hall 
Wed. Oct. 30 - Chico, CA @ The Big Room at Sierra Nevada Brewery
Thu. Oct. 31 - Sonoma, CA @ Sonoma Redwood Barn
Fri. Nov. 1 - San Francisco, CA @ The Warfield Theatre
Sun. Nov. 2 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Sun. Nov. 3 - San Diego, CA @ Observatory San Diego
Mon. Nov. 4 - Santa Ana, CA @ Yost Theater
Fri. Nov. 8 - Reykjavik, IS @ Iceland Airwaves
Sun. Nov. 10 - Cologne, DE @ Luxor
Tue. Nov. 12 - Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Thu. Nov. 14 - Munich, DE @ Strom
Fri. Nov. 15 - Berlin, DE @ Lido
Sat. Nov. 16 - Hamburg, DE @ Knust
Sun. Nov. 17 - Copehagen, DK @ Store Vega
Mon. Nov. 18 - Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Thu. Nov. 21 - Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Sat. Nov. 23 - Bristol, UK @ SWX
Mon. Nov. 25 - Cambridge, UK @ The Junction
Tue. Nov. 26 - Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Wed. Nov. 27 - Glasgow, UK @ QMU
Thu. Nov. 28 - Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Fri. Nov. 29 - London, UK @ Roundhouse
Sun. Dec. 1 - Dublin, IE @ The Academy
Thu. Dec. 5 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall
Fri. Dec. 6 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 7 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall - SOLD OUT
Sat. Dec. 8 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall

Support Under the Radar on Patreon.



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

There are no comments for this entry yet.