Rodrigo y Gabriela: 11:11 (Rubyworks) | Under The Radar Magazine Under the Radar | Music Blog for the Indie Music Magazine
Thursday, August 18th, 2022  

Rodrigo y Gabriela

11:11

Rubyworks

Sep 18, 2009 Web Exclusive Bookmark and Share


In the liner notes to their eponymous debut album, Rodrigo Sanchez and Gabriela Quintero make the point that “A lot of people, when describing our sound, say we play flamenco. We don’t. We blend a lot of styles into our playing, but this area of music is not one of them.” In the three years since the release of Rodrigo y Gabriela, the Mexican duo has become one of the most exciting live acts on the circuit thanks to fluid, rapid-fire guitar play and stylistic experimentation.

For their follow-up, 11:11, Rod & Gab have enlisted producer/mixer Colin Richardson (Slipknot, Trivium) for an album which celebrates some of the musicians that have inspired them over the years. “Buster Voodoo” is an affectionate nod to Jimi Hendrix while “Atman” is their tribute to Dimebag Darrell; it features a scorching electric guitar solo from Testament’s Alex Skolnick. Along with electric guitars, further texture is added by oud and sitar, but at the album’s core is jaw-dropping acoustic interplay-Rodrigo on lead and Gabriela on rhythm-best showcased on track “Master Maqui.” Fizzing with unbridled energy, 11:11 is an ideal musical pick-me-up. (www.rodgab.com)

Author rating: 6/10

Rate this album
Average reader rating: 8/10



Comments

Submit your comment

Name Required

Email Required, will not be published

URL

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Justin
December 23rd 2009
7:33pm

Great review.  I finally picked this album up and almost enjoy it as much as their last.  “Buster Voodoo” is my favorite at the moment.

Flirtsignale
April 5th 2011
8:40pm

I like the temperament in the Rodrigo and Gabrielas music; sounds a bit like flamenco indeed, but it is more ... Thanks for sharing this! Nice blog.

Katelyn22Morrison
August 8th 2011
3:50am

That’s great that we can take the personal loans and this opens completely new opportunities.

MURPHYEVANGELINA
August 27th 2011
3:35pm

If you want to buy a house, you will have to get the mortgage loans. Furthermore, my mother always takes a commercial loan, which occurs to be the most fast.

Britt21Caitlin
October 7th 2011
7:12pm

I will recommend not to hold off until you get enough amount of money to order different goods! You should just take the credit loans or car loan and feel yourself fine

PetersenCasey22
December 25th 2011
5:26am

The loans seem to be useful for guys, which are willing to ground their own organization. By the way, that’s very easy to receive a college loan.

WatkinsTara
March 1st 2012
7:58am

Houses and cars are expensive and not every person can buy it. But, loans are invented to help people in such kind of cases.

KathleenHARRISON
May 31st 2012
11:26pm

One admits that humen’s life seems to be not cheap, nevertheless some people need money for different stuff and not every person earns big sums money. So to get fast mortgage loans and just consolidation loans will be good solution.

PottsJudith30
June 7th 2012
3:56pm

I opine that to get the loans from creditors you ought to present a great motivation. However, once I’ve received a small business loan, because I wanted to buy a bike.

BuchananLouisa28
July 25th 2012
11:33pm

Have no enough cash to buy some real estate? Don’t worry, because it’s possible to get the loans to work out such kind of problems. Thence get a commercial loan to buy everything you need.

SHELIA33Frank
August 4th 2012
10:34am

Have no money to buy a house? Worry not, because this is possible to receive the loans to work out all the problems. Thus get a collateral loan to buy everything you need.

loan
September 27th 2012
3:41pm

When you’re in a not good position and have no cash to go out from that, you will require to receive the loan goodfinance-blog.com. Just because that would help you for sure. I take short term loan every year and feel good just because of it.

Jaydee
October 24th 2012
8:34am

I bow down humlby in the presence of such greatness.

Jaylyn
October 24th 2012
8:34am

This “free sharing” of ifnormation seems too good to be true. Like communism.

Star
October 24th 2012
8:35am

Wow, your post makes mine look fbeele. More power to you!

ALLIEGilbert
February 7th 2013
10:24am

Professional essay editing is guaranteed, if you check out TopWritingService company and order essays from the recommended firm.

MONICAFoley34
February 11th 2013
8:22am

I had a dream to start my company, however I didn’t have enough amount of money to do it. Thank God my dude recommended to use the business loans. Thence I received the term loan and made real my old dream.

HerringLOTTIE31
February 20th 2013
3:17am

Pay attention to this Essaysservice agency in case you want to purchase cheap customized essay and drink in the whole beauty our perfect academic writing service.

SilviaCunningham
February 22nd 2013
7:07am

Click up here if you are trying to find custom written essay. Get a term paper, don’t waste your time and do other important things while qualified writers will cope with your writing work.

buy term papers
March 22nd 2013
5:28am

Go to Internet site for detailed information on how to purchase cheap customized essay and we assure you that you will receive the best outcomes when you try out our help with research paper.

MORRIS18Leigh
July 5th 2013
8:55pm

Hanker to get custom papers uk of ace quality? Visit this site!

AntoinetteMerrill33
July 5th 2013
10:22pm

First of all, I must remark that I’ve loved the challenge. Now as far as the answer goes, I suggest you’ll try to believe and imagine a few steps forward. In fact, modern students began searching better online essay writing services to buy Abortion essay from. I can justly tell without any reservations that my coursework. Thanks!

AugustaClemons
July 12th 2013
6:45am

You have a task to create Definition Essay> but you don’t have a clue how to do this? Get in touch with the most outstanding company on the Web.

BartonEloise25
July 12th 2013
6:52am

Purchase Education Essay according to your instructions written by expert writers and enjoy writing process.

KatinaCohen
August 17th 2013
6:42pm

Have not found perfect college essay writing service yet? Check out Top WritingService company to choose and buy best term papers and essays from the trustworthy company.

RuthGILBERT22
September 14th 2013
12:59am

Lately, graduates are very busy to produce paper writing, they can use this Web site, and purchase custom essay. Turning to this top-notch custom paper writing firm pupils will get essays and paper writing assistance.

IsabelBarber
September 16th 2013
6:13am

But if you wish to save your time and take care of your own business, you are able to gain <a >technology essays help</a> from custom essay writing service, so don’t doubt and visit their Web page.